SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

BERKELEY COUNTY

Formed in 1882 from part of Charleston County; it includes part of an earlier Berkeley County formed by the Proprietors in 1682

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 08001 Berkeley County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1870-1891, 1963-1964
21.00 microfilm reels and 5.00 volumes

L 08002 Berkeley County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1885-1958
4.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 08003 Berkeley County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mercantile and industrial establishments other than corporations registers
1918-1921
1.00 volume

L 08006 Berkeley County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1888-1909
8.00 volumes
 

Clerk of Court

L 08004 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Voter registration books
1883-1956
14.00 volumes

L 08005 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of county officials
1883-1924
2.00 volumes

L 08007 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Transcripts of proceedings in municipal water works bonds issues
1938-1939
1.00 volume

L 08008 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Record of estrays
1883-1950
1.00 volume

L 08009 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of motor vehicles
1907-1915
1.00 volume

L 08066 Berkeley County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of aliens
1940
1.00 volume
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 08010 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Civil journals
1883-1927
4.00 volumes

L 08011 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Judgment rolls
1882-1904
15.00 cubic ft.

L 08012 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Pleadings and judgments
1883-1918
1.00 volume

L 08013 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Reports of the Master
1883-1890
1.00 volume

L 08014 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk (recorded copy)
1883-1895
1.00 volume

L 08015 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
File dockets
1881-1928
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08017 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Bar dockets (attorney's copy)
1920-1931
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 08018 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Jurors pay lists
1931
0.33 cubic ft.

L 08067 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Calendar no. 1
1883-1963
4.00 volumes

L 08068 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Calendar no. 2
1883-1963
4.00 volumes

L 08069 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Calendar no. 3
1883-1963
3.00 volumes

L 08070 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Bar calendar no. 1
1883-1963
4.00 volumes

L 08071 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Bar calendar no. 2
1883-1922
3.00 volumes

L 08072 Court of Common Pleas (Berkeley County)
Bar calendar no. 3
1883-1963
3.00 volumes
 

Master

L 08073 Berkeley County (S.C.). Master.
Minutes of the Master
1892-1896
1.00 volume

L 08074 Berkeley County (S.C.). Master.
Ledgers of the Master
1883-1891
1.00 volume
 

Probate Court

L 08019 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Will books
1883-1939
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08020 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Administration bond books
1883-1981
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 08021 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Administration bonds with will annexed books
1883-1947
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 08022 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Letters of administration books
1883-1974
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 08023 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Letters of administration with will annexed books
1883-1947
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08024 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Letters testamentary books
1883-1970
2.00 volumes

L 08025 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Committee letters and bonds books
1883-1961
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 08026 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Estate papers
1883-1964
29.00 cu. ft. and 16.00 microfilm reels

L 08027 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1883-1947
1.00 volume

L 08028 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Inventories and appraisements books
1947-1955
1.00 volume

L 08029 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Lands devised books
1861-1937
1.00 volume

L 08030 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Letters of guardianship books
1883-1962
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08031 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1883-1962
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 08032 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Letters dismissory books
1884-1962
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08033 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Returns books
1884-1973
5.00 microfilm reels

L 08034 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Petitions and decrees books
1932-1956
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 08035 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Petitions for letters of administration books
1922-1956
1.00 volume

L 08036 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Petitions to prove wills in common form
1922-1932
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 08037 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Public guardian journals
1888-1897
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 08038 Probate Court (Berkeley County)
Journals of the Probate Court
1884-1919
1.00 volume
 

Court of General Sessions

L 08039 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Criminal journals
1882-1927
2.00 volumes

L 08040 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Indictments
1919-1949
4.00 cubic ft. and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 08041 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Criminal dockets
1883-1954
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 08042 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Contingent dockets
1883-1916
1.00 volume

L 08043 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Coroner's inquisitions
1924-1939
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 08044 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations
1921-1944
0.33 cubic ft.

L 08045 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Recognizances
1924-1925
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 08046 Court of General Sessions (Berkeley County)
Papers
ca. 1927-1940
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Coroner

L 08075 Berkeley County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1883-1927
4.00 volumes
 

Magistrates Court

L 08047 Magistrates Court (Berkeley County)
Criminal dockets
1893-1950
7.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 08048 Magistrates Court (Berkeley County)
Civil dockets
ca. 1893-1960
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)
 

Board of Honor

L 08049 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916-1919
1.00 volume
 

County Council

L 08050 Berkeley County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1882-1908
1.00 volume

L 08051 Berkeley County (S.C.). County Council.
Claims against the county
1893-1894
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 08052 Berkeley County (S.C.). County Council.
Expenditures in support of the poor
1892-1920
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 08053 Berkeley County (S.C.). County Council.
Road tax assessments paid by road work
1893-1904
1.00 volume

L 08054 Berkeley County (S.C.). County Council.
Sentences of convicts
1895-1896
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Legislative Delegation

L 08076 Berkeley County (S.C.). Legislative Delegation.
Audit reports
1932-1972
1.00 cubic ft.

L 08077 Berkeley County (S.C.). Legislative Delegation.
Audit reports on schools
1953-1974
1.00 cubic ft.
 

Auditor

L 08055 Berkeley County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1884-1986
125.00 microfilm reels
 

Treasurer

L 08056 Berkeley County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1882-1967
30.00 microfilm reels

L 08057 Berkeley County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Letters sent
1891-1896
1.00 volume

L 08078 Berkeley County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General ledgers of the Treasurer
1908-1960
2.00 volumes
 

Board of Education

L 08058 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' certification record books
1945-1951
2.00 volumes

L 08059 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' recertification record books
1945-1947
1.00 volume

L 08060 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual reports of the Superintendent of Education
1924-1949
13.00 volumes and 0.16 cubic ft.

L 08061 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1912-1958
11.00 microfilm reels

L 08062 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General cashbooks of the Superintendent
1905-1912
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08063 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual school tax settlements of the Board of Education
1894-1926
1.00 microfilm reel

L 08064 Berkeley County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' payrolls
1950-1951
1.00 volume


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions