SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

EDGEFIELD COUNTY

Formed in 1785 from part of Ninety-Six District

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 19001 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1786-1929
82.00 microfilm reels and 12.00 volumes

L 19002 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Master's conveyance books
1883-1927
3.00 microfilm reels

L 19003 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Real estate mortgage books
1872-1905
44.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19004 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1859-1975
22.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19005 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1878-1907
6.00 microfilm reels

L 19006 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Miscellaneous records recorded by the Register of Mesne Conveyances
1884-1910
12.00 microfilm reels

L 19097 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of conveyance books
1796-1821
24.00 volumes

L 19162 Edgefield County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Easements and rights of way books
1968-1976
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 19007 Edgefield County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1802-1879
3.00 microfilm reels

L 19101 Edgefield County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Abstracts of plat books
1802-1846
2.00 volumes
 

Clerk of Court

L 19008 Edgefield County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916-1933
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19009 Edgefield County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of magistrates and constables
1800-1840
0.01 cubic ft.

L 19102 Edgefield County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Statements and returns of votes
1876
0.66 cubic ft.
 

County and Intermediate Court

L 19010 County and Intermediate Court (Edgefield County)
Journals of the County and Intermediate Court
1785-1795
1.00 volume and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19011 County and Intermediate Court (Edgefield County)
Execution dockets
1792
0.01 microfilm reel
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 19012 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Civil journals
1807-1896
12.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 13.00 volumes

L 19013 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Rough civil journals
1800-1817
3.00 volumes and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19014 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Judgment rolls
1800-1871
127.00 microfilm reels, 51.00 cubic ft., and 1.00 volume

L 19015 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Pleadings and judgments
1800-1913
20.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19016 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk (recorded copy)
1821-1844
1.00 volume

L 19017 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 1
1871-1919
2.00 microfilm reels

L 19018 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 2
1871-1910
1.00 microfilm reel and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19019 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 3
1877-1922
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19020 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 4
1871-1883
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19021 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 5
1871-1883
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19022 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Calendar no. 6
1870-1883
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19023 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Bar dockets
1829-1871
2.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19024 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Bar calendars
1869-1881
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19025 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Cash account books
1898-1906
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19026 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Equity minutes
1869-1870
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19042 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Journals of the Provost Court
1865
1.00 volume and 0.01 volume

L 19051 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
1800-1861
66.00 microfilm reels, 17.66 cubic ft., and 4.00 volumes

L 19104 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Equity records (general index)
1869
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19105 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Equity petitions
1869
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19109 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process
1821-1860
1.00 microfilm reel, 0.16 cubic ft., and 1.00 volume

L 19110 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Papers
ca. 1790-1870
0.66 cubic ft.

L 19111 Court of Common Pleas (Edgefield County)
Fieri facias executions
ca. 1800-1870
4.00 cubic ft.
 

Court of Equity

L 19027 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity minutes
1815-1868
2.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 5.00 volumes

L 19028 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Rough equity minutes
1815-1822
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19029 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity bills
ca. 1814-1868
49.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19030 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity petitions
ca. 1818-1868
4.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19031 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity decree books
1815-1826
1.00 volume and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19032 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity orders books
1849-1858
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19033 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity report books
1816-1860
4.00 volumes, 0.01 volume, and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19034 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
1834-1868
4.00 microfilm reels

L 19035 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
List of guardians
1815-1830
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19103 Court of Equity (Edgefield District)
Equity records (general index)
1814-1868
0.01 microfilm reel
 

Master

L 19036 Edgefield County (S.C.). Master.
Minutes of the Master
1841-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 19037 Edgefield County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1843-1904
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 19038 Edgefield County (S.C.). Master.
Receipt books
1860-1870
1.00 volume
 

Court of Ordinary

L 19040 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Estate record books
1800-1839
11.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 9.00 volumes

L 19044 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Administration bonds with will annexed books
1853-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19046 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Letters books
1837-1849
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19054 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Partition books
1825-1839
1.00 microfilm reel, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 1.00 volume

L 19058 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Receipt books
1825-1852
2.00 microfilm reels

L 19063 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Abstracts of receipt books
1839-1852
1.00 volume

L 19098 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Estate record books (abstracts)
1800-1839
6.00 volumes

L 19106 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Bond books
1838-1850
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 19107 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Receipts for distribution of funds from sale of real estate
1825-1852
2.00 volumes

L 19161 Court of Ordinary (Edgefield District)
Petitions for guardianship
1833-1838
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Probate Court

L 19039 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Estate papers
1785-1939
122.00 microfilm reels

L 19041 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Will books
1787-1905
7.00 microfilm reels and 3.00 volumes

L 19043 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Administration bond books
1850-1933
4.00 microfilm reels

L 19045 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1834-1903
2.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 1.00 volume

L 19047 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Letters of administration books
1849-1933
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19048 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Letters of administration with will annexed books
1853-1975
1.00 microfilm reel and 0.01 microfilm reel

L 19049 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Letters testamentary books
1849-1888
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19050 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Letters of guardianship books
1849-1888
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19052 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1836-1915
11.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 3.00 volumes

L 19053 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Real estate books
1875-1908
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19055 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Lands devised books
1876-1910
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19056 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Cashbooks of the Probate Judge
1875-1916
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19057 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Money decrees books
1879-1907
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19059 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Returns books
1838-1913
9.00 microfilm reels

L 19060 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Journals of the Probate Court
1840-1875
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 19064 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Marriage books
1911-1976
4.00 microfilm reels

L 19168 Probate Court (Edgefield County)
Marriage licenses
1911-1999
31.00 microfilm reels
 

Court of General Sessions

L 19065 Court of General Sessions (Edgefield County)
Criminal journals
1802-1879
1.00 microfilm reel, 0.02 microfilm reels, and 8.00 volumes

L 19163 Court of General Sessions (Edgefield County)
Indictments (index)
1900-1975
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Magistrates Court

L 19066 Magistrates Court (Edgefield County)
Register of oaths of allegiance
1865
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Sheriff

L 19067 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Writ books of the Sheriff
1800-1930; (bulk 1843-1930)
16.00 microfilm reels

L 19068 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Execution books of the Sheriff
1804-1925
24.00 microfilm reels

L 19069 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax execution books of the Sheriff
1868-1900
3.00 microfilm reels

L 19070 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Militia and road duty fines and executions books
1836-1855
4.00 volumes and 0.01 volumes

L 19071 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1825-1895
1.00 microfilm reel, 0.01 microfilm reel, 1.00 volume, and 0.01 volume

L 19072 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Jail books of the Sheriff
1865-1961
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 19073 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sheriff's returns books
1830-1868
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19074 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Account books of the Sheriff
1897-1898
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19075 Edgefield County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Record of taxes collected
1895
0.01 microfilm reel
 

Coroner

L 19077 Edgefield County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1844-1902
2.00 microfilm reels and 4.00 volumes
 

Soldiers' Board of Relief

L 19085 Edgefield District (S.C.). Soldiers' Board of Relief.
Papers
1863-1864
0.01 microfilm reel
 

Board of Honor

L 19076 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension applications
1919-1923
1.00 microfilm reel
 

County Council

L 19100 Edgefield County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1889-1929
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Auditor

L 19078 Edgefield County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable personal property
1869-1870
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19079 Edgefield County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1922-1931
10.00 microfilm reels

L 19090 Edgefield County (S.C.). Auditor.
Delinquent tax sales books of the Auditor
1871-1878
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Tax Assessor

L 19080 Edgefield County (S.C.). Tax Assessor.
Real estate assessment cards
1968-1976
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19084 Edgefield County (S.C.). Tax Assessor.
Property tax maps (Towns of Edgefield, Johnston, and Trenton)
1967-1971
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Treasurer

L 19081 Edgefield County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1903-1973
20.00 microfilm reels

L 19082 Edgefield County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Fifteen percent delinquent tax lists
1881-1900
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 19083 Edgefield County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Cancelled bonds
1916-1951
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Board of Education

L 19086 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Superintendent's files of Board of Trustee minutes
1944-1958
0.33 cubic ft.

L 19087 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual reports of principals or teachers
1944-1949
0.33 cubic ft.

L 19088 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1900-1968
6.00 microfilm reels and 0.66 cubic ft.

L 19089 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Directory of teachers
1951-1958
0.33 cubic ft.

L 19091 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
High school accreditation applications
1944-1968
0.33 cubic ft.

L 19092 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Elementary school accreditation files
1953-1968
0.33 cubic ft.

L 19108 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Jeanes teachers' (Negro Rural School Fund) aid applications
1948
0.01 cubic ft.

L 19112 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Correspondence of the Superintendent of Education
ca. 1945-1972
1.00 cubic ft.

L 19113 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Freedom of Choice forms
1966-1969
2.00 cubic ft.

L 19114 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Title 45 papers
1971
0.16 cubic ft.

L 19115 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual reports of the Adult Education Program
1948-1955
0.01 cubic ft.

L 19116 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Title V correspondence
1967-1968
0.01 cubic ft.

L 19117 Edgefield County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Ledgers of the Veteran Farm Training program
1955-1958
2.00 volumes
 

Mixed Provenance

L 19165 Papers of mixed provenance
ca. 1790-1900
0.16 cubic ft. and 41.00 microfilm reels

L 19166 Records relating to Henry Shultz and the town of Hamburg
1823-1964; (bulk 1823-1859)
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 19094 Bacon, Thomas G., Clerk of Court and Merchant of Fairfield County, S.C.
Account books of Thomas G. Bacon
1838-1854
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19095 Ledgers of a merchant
1846-1869
0.01 microfilm reel

L 19096 Papers
1805-1879
0.01 cubic ft.

L 19164 Chapman, John A.
History of Edgefield County from the earliest settlement to 1897
1897
1.00 microfilm reel

L 19167 Census of the village of Edgefield.
1891
1.00 microfilm reel


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions