SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

HORRY COUNTY

Formed in 1801 from part of Georgetown District

Federal troops rifled and vandalized courthouse offices in 1865; many loose papers and volumes of the clerk of court (including early deeds to 1828) were destroyed. The files of the commissioner of equity were virtually wiped out, and loose probate papers left in disarray. At some later date, pre-1887 General Sessions Indictments were lost as well.

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 26001 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1803-1977; (bulk 1803-1928)
41.00 microfilm reels and 26.00 volumes

L 26003 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1913-1982
3.00 microfilm reels

L 26004 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds
1903-1947
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26005 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Charters
1895
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26006 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1878-1909
23.00 volumes

L 26007 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Labor contracts (index)
1909-1919
1.00 volume

L 26102 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds books
1876-1942
1.00 volume

L 26108 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Bonds for titles
1903-1917
1.00 volume

L 26113 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mortgages and liens (indexes)
1875-1894
2.00 volumes

L 26114 Horry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mortgage books (indexes)
1895-1901
2.00 volumes
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 26008 Horry County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1802-1879
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes
 

Clerk of Court

L 26009 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of county officials
1884-1913
1.00 volume

L 26010 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Lists of delayed certificates for births prior to 1915
1939-1960
3.00 volumes

L 26011 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of motor vehicles
1914-1917
1.00 volume

L 26012 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Election files
1922-1952
1.00 cubic ft.

L 26013 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Record of estrays
1843-1921
1.00 volume

L 26014 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Estrays
1907
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26015 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Drainage district records
1911-1914
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26016 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Commissions and appointments
1914-1959
0.16 cubic ft.

L 26017 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
New county proposal files
1926-1927
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26018 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Petitions to be excused from jury duty
1804-1805
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26109 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Receipts for legislative publications
1882-1907
1.00 volume

L 26110 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Seed cotton sales license stub books
1905-1910
1.00 volume

L 26111 Horry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Cashbooks of the Clerk of Court
1917-1941
1.00 volume
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 26019 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Civil journals
1803-1915
11.00 volumes

L 26020 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Rough civil journals
1833-1841
1.00 volume

L 26021 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Judgment rolls
1804-1914
25.57 cubic ft., 6.00 volumes, and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 26022 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Judgment books
1804-1829
1.00 volume

L 26023 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Pleadings and judgments
1840-1902
6.00 volumes

L 26024 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Abstracts of judgments
1804-1912
4.00 volumes

L 26025 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Rules to survey
1881-1906
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26026 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Rules books
1841-1874
1.00 volume

L 26027 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Issue dockets
1858-1872
1.00 volume

L 26028 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Writs of inquiry dockets
1841-1870
2.00 volumes

L 26029 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Execution dockets
1804-1807
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 26030 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Sheriff's returns books
1851-1855
1.00 volume

L 26031 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 1
1873-1944
3.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 26032 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 2
1908-1938
2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 26033 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 3
1879-1940
1.00 microfilm reel

L 26034 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 4
1874-1882
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26035 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 5
1873-1882
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26036 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Calendar no. 6
1874-1882
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26037 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Homestead exemption files
1883-1905
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26038 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Attachment bonds
1898-1908
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26039 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Writs of attachment
1893-1906
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26040 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Undertakings
1893-1907
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26041 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Appeals to the Court of Common Pleas
1886-1909
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26042 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Lis pendens files
1876-1906
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26043 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Summonses for relief
1897-1908
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26044 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Receipt books
1869-1875
1.00 volume

L 26045 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Receipts for processes
1944
1.00 volume

L 26046 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Horry Industrial High School files
1911-1914
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26047 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Papers
1883-1902
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26048 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process
1804-1870
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 26049 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Summary process dockets
1815-1870
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 26050 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
1851-1870
2.66 cubic ft. and 4.00 volumes

L 26051 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Transcripts of judgment
1870-1912
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26052 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Transcripts of judgment dockets
1870-1872
1.00 volume

L 26053 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Equity minutes
1869
1.00 volume

L 26054 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Equity dockets
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 26104 Court of Common Pleas (Horry County)
Sales books of the Court of Common Pleas
1879-1922
2.00 volumes
 

Court of Equity

L 26055 Court of Equity (Horry District)
Equity minutes
1842-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 26056 Court of Equity (Horry District)
Equity report books
1842-1867
1.00 microfilm reel

L 26058 Court of Equity (Horry District)
Equity dockets
1842-1867
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26061 Court of Equity (Horry District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
1840-1862
1.00 volume
 

Master

L 26059 Horry County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1841-1869
2.00 volumes

L 26060 Horry County (S.C.). Master.
Stock books
1867-1868
1.00 volume
 

Court of Ordinary

L 26065 Court of Ordinary (Horry District)
Bond books
1803-1818
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26066 Court of Ordinary (Horry District)
Administration bond books
1819-1821
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 26067 Court of Ordinary (Horry District)
Letters of administration books
1823-1840
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

Probate Court

L 26062 Probate Court (Horry County)
Estate papers
1803-1931
23.00 microfilm reels

L 26063 Probate Court (Horry County)
Will books
1819-1907
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)

L 26068 Probate Court (Horry County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1803-1879
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 26069 Probate Court (Horry County)
Real estate books
1842-1873
1.00 microfilm reel

L 26112 Probate Court (Horry County)
Marriage licenses
1911-1950
39.00 microfilm reels
 

Court of General Sessions

L 26070 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Criminal journals
1804-1951
8.00 volumes

L 26071 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Indictments
1804-1921; (bulk 1887-1921
10.33 cubic ft., 1.00 microfilm reel, and 3.00 volumes

L 26072 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Criminal dockets
1807-1936
7.00 volumes

L 26073 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations
1882-1932
0.16 cubic ft.

L 26074 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations (recorded copy)
1895-1932
1.00 volume

L 26075 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Recognizances
1897-1903
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26076 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Annual reports of the Commissioners of the Free Schools
1856-1858
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26100 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Bar dockets
1897-1906
1.00 volume

L 26101 Court of General Sessions (Horry County)
Contingent dockets
1875-1905
1.00 volume
 

District Court

L 26077 District Court (Horry District)
Criminal journals
1866-1868
2.00 volumes

L 26078 District Court (Horry District)
Civil dockets
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 26079 District Court (Horry District)
Criminal dockets
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 26099 District Court (Horry District)
Civil journals
1866-1868
1.00 volume
 

Magistrates Court

L 26083 Magistrates Court (Horry County)
Civil dockets
1881-1908
1.00 volume

L 26103 Magistrates Court (Horry County)
Criminal dockets
1911-1921
2.00 volumes
 

Sheriff

L 26084 Horry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1852-1928; (bulk 1853-1873)
0.66 cubic ft. and 2.00 volumes

L 26085 Horry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax sales books
1926-1942
2.00 volumes

L 26106 Horry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Executions of the Sheriff
ca. 1870-1925
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Coroner

L 26086 Horry County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1849-1874
1.00 volume
 

Board of Honor

L 26080 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Minutes of the Board of Honor
1904-1914
1.00 volume

L 26081 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension rolls
1889-1916
2.00 volumes

L 26082 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension application books
1901-1919
1.00 volume
 

County Council

L 26087 Horry County (S.C.). County Council.
Petitions for licenses to operate tourist courts
1938-1940
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Commissioners of the Public Buildings

L 26088 Horry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Public Buildings
1802-1851
1.00 volume
 

Auditor

L 26089 Horry County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1918-1920
3.00 microfilm reels
 

Forfeited Land Commission

L 26090 Horry County (S.C.). Forfeited Land Commission.
Tax title deeds
1946
1.00 volume
 

Treasurer

L 26091 Horry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1876-1960; (bulk 1905-1960)
86.00 microfilm reels

L 26092 Horry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General ledgers of the Treasurer
1943-1961
13.00 volumes

L 26093 Horry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General cashbooks of the Treasurer
1907-1963
4.00 volumes

L 26094 Horry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
School funds cashbooks of the Treasurer
1916-1952
33.00 volumes

L 26095 Horry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Check registers
1951-1952
1.00 volume
 

Tax Collector

L 26096 Horry County (S.C.). Tax Collector.
Tax returns
ca. 1845-1851
1.00 volume and 0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Board of Education

L 26002 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Blueprints
1971, 1975
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26057 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Voucher register (Conway school district nos. 1 & 19)
1948-1949
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26097 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Transcripts of proceedings in school district bond issues
1937-1941
0.33 cubic ft.

L 26115 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Desegregation file
1965-1974 (bulk 1965-1970)
1.33 cubic ft.

L 26116 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Curriculum workshop booklet: a guide for teachers in elementary schools
1943
1.00 volume

L 26117 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Retirement register number book
n.d.
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 26118 Horry County (S.C.).  Board of Education.
School funds cashbooks of the Superintendent
1893-1952 (bulk 1893-1900, 1947-1952)
4.00 volumes

L 26119 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Register of expenditures approved by the Superintendent
1927-1952
6.00 volumes

L 26120 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General cashbooks of the Superintendent
1904-1908
1.00 volume

L 26121 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
School bond register
1922-1942
1.00 volume

L 26122 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers payrolls
1932-1933
1.00 volume

L 26123 Horry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Register of claims
1921-1924
1.00 volume
 

Mixed Provenance

L 26107 Papers of mixed provenance
ca. 1800-1960
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 26105 Ledger of a naval stores firm
ca. 1859-1860
1.00 volume


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions