SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

LANCASTER COUNTY

Formed in 1785 from part of Camden District

Although marauding federal soldiers attempted to fire the courthouse, many records were saved; loose equity papers, however, seem to have perished. Moreover, most of Lancaster's probate records were destroyed when Union cavalry intercepted in open country local officials who were attempting to remove the records to safety.

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 29001 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1787-1922
53.00 microfilm reels and 72.00 volumes

L 29002 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds books
1866-1884
1.00 volume

L 29003 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1881-1882
2.00 volumes

L 29004 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mechanics' liens books
1874-1953
1.00 volume

L 29005 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Labor contracts (index)
1908-1929
1.00 volume

L 29006 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Charter books
1889-1949
1.00 volume

L 29007 Lancaster County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mercantile and industrial establishments other than corporations registers
1918-1964
1.00 volume
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 29009 Lancaster County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1829-1882
3.00 volumes and 3.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 29010 Lancaster County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Warrants of survey books
1841-1882
2.00 volumes and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 29011 Lancaster County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
List of warrants
1829
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Clerk of Court

L 29012 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Confederate veterans' enrollment books
1902
2.00 microfilm reels

L 29014 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of county officials
1844-1944
1.00 volume

L 29015 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Jurors, witnesses, and constables payrolls
1870-1884
1.00 volume

L 29016 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of medical practitioners
1882-1983
1.00 volume

L 29017 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of aliens
1940-1956
1.00 volume

L 29018 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Miscellaneous indexes
n.d.
1.00 volume

L 29019 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Citizenship petitions books
1904
1.00 volume

L 29021 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of motor vehicles
1916-1917
1.00 volume

L 29022 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Fines and forfeitures
1840-1857
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29023 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Laws on highway right of way
1951
0.16 cubic ft.

L 29024 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Receipt books
1872
1.00 volume

L 29154 Lancaster County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Jury lists
1789
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 29025 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Civil journals
1800-1929
17.00 volumes

L 29026 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Rough civil journals
1808-1870
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 29027 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Judgment rolls
1800-1927
39.50 cubic ft. and 3.00 volumes

L 29028 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Pleadings and judgments (abstracts)
1835-1897
1.00 volume

L 29029 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Pleadings and judgments
1815-1924
21.00 volumes

L 29031 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Appearance books
1840-1870
1.00 volume

L 29032 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Issue dockets
1846-1870
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 29033 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Rough issue dockets
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 29034 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Inquiry dockets
1843-1870
2.00 volumes

L 29035 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Rough inquiry dockets
1869-1870
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29036 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 1
1870-1962
3.00 volumes

L 29037 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 2
1870-1962
4.00 volumes

L 29038 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 3
1876-1950
2.00 volumes

L 29039 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 4
1870-1882
2.00 volumes

L 29040 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 5
1874-1882
1.00 volume

L 29041 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendar no. 6
1874-1882
2.00 volumes

L 29042 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Calendars of the Court of Common Pleas
1870-1880
1.00 volume

L 29043 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Judge's dockets
1870-1871
1.00 volume

L 29044 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Bar dockets
1840-1936
11.00 volumes

L 29045 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Rough bar dockets
1821-1844
11.00 volumes

L 29046 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk (recorded copy)
1829-1902
2.00 volumes

L 29047 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Lis pendens books
1870-1929
4.00 volumes

L 29048 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Writ books of the Court of Common Pleas
1869
1.00 volume

L 29049 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Writs of attachment books
1897-1914
1.00 volume

L 29050 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Garnishee returns
1839-1840
1.00 volume

L 29051 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Rules books
1893-1948
2.00 volumes

L 29052 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
File books
1840-1870
1.00 volume

L 29053 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Orders appointing receivers
1901
1.00 volume

L 29054 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Receipt books
1872
1.00 volume

L 29055 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Summary process dockets
1847-1870
2.00 volumes

L 29056 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
1800-1850
1.32 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

L 29057 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process
1830-1870
4.00 volumes

L 29058 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity minutes
1869-1877
2.00 microfilm reels and 3.00 volumes

L 29059 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity decree books
1871
0.00 microfilm reels (partial reel) and 1.00 volume

L 29060 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity report books
1869-1927
2.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 29061 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity dockets
1869-1871
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 29062 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity bar dockets
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 29063 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Equity file books
1870-1894
2.00 volumes

L 29139 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Undertakings (abstracts)
1877-1879
1.00 volume

L 29155 Court of Common Pleas (Lancaster County)
Sales books of the Court of Common Pleas
1869-1896
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel
 

Court of Equity

L 29064 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity minutes
1822-1868
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 4.00 volumes

L 29065 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity records (general index)
ca. 1822-1860
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 29066 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity decree books
1837-1868
0.00 microfilm reels (partial reel) and 0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29067 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Money decrees books
1840-1866
1.00 volume

L 29068 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity report books
1840-1868
2.00 microfilm reels and 3.00 volumes

L 29069 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Reports on bills to perpetuate testimony
1866-1868
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 29071 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity dockets
1840-1868
1.00 volume (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reels (partial reel)

L 29072 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity bar dockets
1840-1868
1.00 volume (includes partial volume) and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 29074 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Equity file books
1818-1868
1.00 volume (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 29146 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
1839-1850
1.00 volume

L 29147 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1837-1868
1.00 volume

L 29148 Court of Equity (Lancaster District)
Record of bills to perpetuate testimony
1867
1.00 volume
 

Master

L 29070 Lancaster County (S.C.). Master.
Annual reports of the Commissioner in Equity
1841-1867
1.00 microfilm reel

L 29075 Lancaster County (S.C.). Master.
Minutes of the Master
1830-1869
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 1.00 volume

L 29076 Lancaster County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1834-1868
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 29077 Lancaster County (S.C.). Master.
Receipt books
1833-1838
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

Court of Ordinary

L 29078 Court of Ordinary (Lancaster District)
Estate papers (fragments of the estate records of Samuel B. Hammond)
1858-1863
1.00 volume

L 29080 Court of Ordinary (Lancaster District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bonds
1824-1867
1.00 microfilm reel

L 29083 Court of Ordinary (Lancaster District)
Receipt books
1854-1860
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 1.00 volume
 

Probate Court

L 29079 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Will books
1865-1919
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 29081 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
ca. 1820-1871
7.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 29082 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916
1.00 volume

L 29140 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Journals of the Probate Court
1865-1897
1.00 volume

L 29142 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1867-1920
3.00 volumes

L 29143 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Warrant appraisement book
1865-1877
1.00 volume

L 29144 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Returns books
1847-1920
6.00 volumes

L 29149 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Marriage licenses
1911-1950
0.16 cubic ft. and 34.00 microfilm reels

L 29156 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Marriage books
1911-1951
3.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 29157 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Estate papers
1865-1915
17.00 microfilm reels

L 29158 Probate Court (Lancaster County)
Commitment papers
1894-1952
3.00 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)
 

Court of General Sessions

L 29084 Court of General Sessions (Lancaster County)
Criminal journals
1817-1936
10.00 volumes

L 29085 Court of General Sessions (Lancaster County)
Rough criminal journals
1847-1873
4.00 volumes

L 29086 Court of General Sessions (Lancaster County)
Indictments
1800-1957
25.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 volumes

L 29087 Court of General Sessions (Lancaster County)
Criminal dockets
1843-1934
5.00 volumes

L 29089 Court of General Sessions (Lancaster County)
Contingent dockets
1857-1936
1.00 volume
 

District Court

L 29094 District Court (Lancaster District)
Civil journals
1866-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29095 District Court (Lancaster District)
Contingent dockets
1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29096 District Court (Lancaster District)
Bar dockets
1867
1.00 volume

L 29138 District Court (Lancaster District)
Criminal dockets
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Magistrates Court

L 29091 Magistrates Court (Lancaster County)
Civil dockets
1917-1933
1.00 volume

L 29092 Magistrates Court (Lancaster County)
Criminal dockets
1896-1938
12.00 volumes
 

Sheriff

L 29097 Lancaster County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1866-1960
1.00 volume

L 29098 Lancaster County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Jail books of the Sheriff
1948-1973
8.00 volumes
 

Coroner

L 29100 Lancaster County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1885-1928
3.00 volumes
 

Jailer

L 29099 Lancaster County (S.C.). Jailer.
Jail books of the Jailer
1956-1972
7.00 volumes
(Restricted)
 

Board of Honor

L 29145 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension applications
1919
0.66 cubic ft.
 

County Council

L 29105 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1884-1972
3.00 volumes

L 29106 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Expenditures in support of the poor
1868-1870
2.00 volumes

L 29107 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Cashbooks of the County Council
1881-1916
2.00 volumes

L 29108 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Chain gang books
1929-1943
1.00 volume

L 29109 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Inventory of records and equipment
1872
2.00 volumes

L 29110 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Liquor license receipts
1873-1876
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29111 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Magistrates' fines
1876
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 29112 Lancaster County (S.C.). County Council.
Receipts for redemption of land
1878
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Commissioners of the Poor

L 29101 Lancaster District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Poor.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Poor
1853-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Commissioners of the Roads

L 29102 Lancaster District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Roads
1849-1868
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 29103 Lancaster District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Orders books
1852-1859; (bulk 1853-1857)
2.00 volumes
 

Commissioners to Establish a Free School (Lancaster District)

L 29104 Lancaster District (S.C.). Commissioners to Establish a Free School.
Minutes of the Commissioners to Establish a Free School
1800-1840
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes
 

Auditor

L 29113 Lancaster County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable personal property
1868-1870
3.00 volumes

L 29114 Lancaster County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable real property
1868-1870
2.00 volumes

L 29115 Lancaster County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1868-1920
48.00 microfilm reels

L 29116 Lancaster County (S.C.). Auditor.
Delinquent tax sales books of the Auditor
1868-1885
3.00 volumes
 

Treasurer

L 29117 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1894-1984; (bulk 1921-1984)
77.00 microfilm reels

L 29118 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General ledgers of the Treasurer
1927-1946
2.00 volumes

L 29119 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General cashbooks of the Treasurer
1876-1945
19.00 volumes

L 29120 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
School funds cashbooks of the Treasurer
1893-1933
11.00 volumes

L 29121 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual county tax settlements of the Treasurer
1895-1925
2.00 volumes

L 29122 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual school tax settlements of the Treasurer
1893-1929
3.00 volumes

L 29123 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Daily summaries of receipts and disbursements
1895-1907
1.00 volume

L 29124 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
School bonds issued
1946
1.00 volume

L 29125 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Cancelled bonds
1905-1937
0.33 cubic ft.

L 29126 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual settlements with the Comptroller General
1944
0.16 cubic ft.

L 29127 Lancaster County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Returns books of the Magistrates
1934-1943
1.00 volume
 

Board of Education

L 29128 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' certification record books
1870-1937
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 29129 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1905-1927
3.00 microfilm reels

L 29130 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual school tax settlements of the Board of Education
1919-1933
1.00 microfilm reel

L 29131 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Works Progress Administration inventory of county schools
1935
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 cubic ft.

L 29132 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Record of active teachers
1937
1.00 volume

L 29133 Lancaster County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General reference file
1938-1945
1.00 cubic ft.
 

Mixed Provenance

L 29134 Papers of mixed provenance
ca. 1869-1940
6.93 cubic ft.
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 29135 Medical account books
1898-1903
1.00 volume

L 29136 Ledgers of a merchant
1830-1835
2.00 volume

L 29137 Hammond, Samuel B.
Ledgers of Samuel B. Hammond
ca. 1820-1836
1.00 volume

L 29151 Ledgers of a blacksmith
1834-1837
1.00 volume


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions