SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

NEWBERRY COUNTY

Formed in 1785 from part of Ninety-Six District

Pre-1881 General Sessions Indictments and pre-1870 Judgment Rolls were lost at an undetermined date, under unknown circumstances

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 36001 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1785-1921, 1941
92.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 36002 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1901-1949
8.00 microfilm reels

L 36003 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Buzzards Roost project right of way books
1937
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36004 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Real estate mortgage books
1872-1949
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 7.00 volumes

L 36006 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mercantile and industrial establishments other than corporations registers
1918-1955
1.00 volume

L 36007 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Chattel mortgage books
1882-1914
7.00 volumes

L 36008 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Agricultural liens
1895-1896
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36009 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1875-1910
32.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 36010 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Labor contracts (index)
1908-1928
3.00 volumes

L 36011 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Miscellaneous records recorded by the Register of Mesne Conveyances
1886-1952
8.00 volumes

L 36012 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds books
1866-1913
2.00 volumes

L 36013 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Contract books of the South Carolina Cotton Growers Cooperative Association
1922-1930
1.00 volume

L 36014 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Railroad charters
1897
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36015 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Citizens' copies of recorded instruments
1883-1920
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36143 Newberry County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of conveyance books
1785-1805
8.00 volumes
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 36016 Newberry County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1806-1860
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)
 

Clerk of Court

L 36005 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Tax returns lists
1840-1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36017 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Voter registration books
1882-1918
2.00 volumes

L 36018 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Confederate veterans' enrollment books
1902
2.00 volumes

L 36019 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of aliens
1940
1.00 volume

L 36021 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of motor vehicles
1908-1916
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 36022 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Record of estrays
1787-1891
4.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 36023 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Citizenship petitions
1808-1890
0.66 cubic ft.

L 36024 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Reports of the Soldiers' Board of Relief
1862-1863
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36025 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of county officials
1841-1891
1.00 volume

L 36026 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Miscellaneous records
1937-1949
1.00 microfilm reel

L 36027 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Petitions to be excused from jury duty
1897-1935
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36028 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Record of alcohol prescriptions
1911-1917
1.00 volume

L 36029 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Petitions for guardianships of free persons of color (index)
n.d.
0.00 volume (partial container)

L 36030 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Venire facias writs
1835-1952
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36031 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Federal pension papers
1849-1893
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36032 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Federal census forms for report on wealth, debt, and taxation
1902
0.16 cubic ft.

L 36033 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Receipt books
1869-1871
1.00 volume

L 36148 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Receipt book for papers removed from the court
1949-1952
1.00 volume

L 36149 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Receipt book for books issued to trial justices
1882-1923
1.00 volume

L 36150 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of notaries public
1890-1953
1.00 volume

L 36151 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
List for notification of tax liens
1926-1932
1.00 volume

L 36152 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Miscellaneous records
ca. 1880-1960
2.00 cubic ft.

L 36167 Newberry County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of medical practitioners
1882-1984
1.00 volume
 

County and Intermediate Court

L 36146 County and Intermediate Court (Newberry County)
Journals of the County and Intermediate Court
1785-1798
1.00 volume
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 36034 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Civil journals
1840-1953
22.00 volumes

L 36035 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Judgment rolls
1870-1950
20.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 36036 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Pleadings and judgments
1839-1908
11.00 microfilm reels

L 36037 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Abstracts of judgments
1878-1956
1.00 volume

L 36038 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Public guardian files
1882-1901
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36039 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Public guardian journals
1881-1931
2.00 volumes

L 36040 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Issue dockets
1867-1870
1.00 volume

L 36041 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 1
1871-1975
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 36042 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 2
1871-1971
2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 36043 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 3
1871-1906
1.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36044 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 4
1871-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36045 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 5
1871-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36046 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Calendar no. 6
1874-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36047 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Rules books
1840-1870
1.00 volume

L 36048 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Renunciations of dower books
1936-1949
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 36049 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Taxation of costs books
1847-1901
5.00 volumes

L 36050 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Plats (fragments of judgment rolls)
1788-1895
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36051 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Account books of the Court of Common Pleas
1869-1913
2.00 volumes

L 36052 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Attachment bonds for crops under lien
1843-1895
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36053 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Receipt books
1842-1894
2.00 volumes

L 36054 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Derelict estate account books
1860-1897
1.00 volume

L 36055 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity rolls
1870-1951
54.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 36056 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity records (general index)
ca. 1869-1872
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 36057 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity bills
1869-1872
14.00 microfilm reels

L 36058 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity decree books
1875-1889
1.00 volume

L 36059 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity report books
1869-1890
1.00 volume

L 36147 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Equity file books
1897-1900
1.00 volume

L 36153 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Writ of attachment book (real estate)
1921-1925
1.00 volume

L 36154 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Contingent calendar
1926
1.00 volume

L 36155 Court of Common Pleas (Newberry County)
Bar dockets
1869-1926
14.00 volumes
 

Court of Equity

(Pre-1818 equity records are found in the records of Washington District)

L 36020 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity file books
1841-1857
1.00 volume

L 36060 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity minutes
1818-1862
6.00 volumes

L 36061 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity records (general index)
1818-1868
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 36062 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity bills
1818-1885
21.00 cubic ft. and 64.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 36063 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity bill records
1818-1826
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 36064 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity petitions
1816-1868
3.00 cubic ft. and 19.00 microfilm reels

L 36065 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity decrees
1818-1849
0.66 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 36066 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity orders
1818-1868
1.33 cubic ft.

L 36068 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity report books
1857-1867
1.00 volume

L 36069 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity dockets
1818-1820
1.00 volume

L 36072 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Writs of partition
1838-1850
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36073 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Writs of attachment
1819-1833
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36074 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Fieri facias executions
1819-1843
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36075 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Writs of injunction
1819-1868
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36076 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Writs of ne exeat
1819-1848
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36077 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Lunacy inquiries
1846
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36145 Court of Equity (Newberry District)
Equity papers
ca. 1809-1872
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Master

L 36067 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Equity reports
1818-1850
1.33 cubic ft.

L 36070 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Bonds
1836-1852
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36071 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Annual reports of the Commissioner in Equity
1818-1864
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36078 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Account books of the Master
1852-1896
6.00 volumes

L 36079 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1834-1930
4.00 volumes

L 36081 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Taxation of costs books
1834-1868
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 36082 Newberry County (S.C.). Master.
Receipt books
1827-1912
7.00 volumes
 

Court of Ordinary

L 36086 Court of Ordinary (Newberry District)
Estate record books
1787-1840
6.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 25.00 volumes

L 36087 Court of Ordinary (Newberry District)
Returns books
1839-1842
1.00 volume
 

Probate Court

L 36083 Probate Court (Newberry County)
Estate papers
1787-1889
101.00 microfilm reels 

L 36084 Probate Court (Newberry County)
Will books
1839-1913
2.00 microfilm reels and 3.00 volumes

L 36088 Probate Court (Newberry County)
Real estate books
1859-1873
1.00 volume

L 36089 Probate Court (Newberry County)
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916-1918
1.00 volume
 

Court of General Sessions

L 36090 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Criminal journals
1840-1952
16.00 volumes

L 36091 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Rough criminal journals
1822-1834
2.00 volumes

L 36092 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Contingent dockets
1872-1949
1.00 microfilm reel

L 36093 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Indictments
1881-1952
7.00 cubic ft., 1.00 microfilm reel, and 1.00 volume

L 36094 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Criminal dockets
1882-1950
6.00 volumes

L 36095 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Grand jury presentments
1897-1952
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36096 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Coroner's inquisitions
1894-1950
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36097 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Annual reports of the County Treasurer
1952
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36098 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Writs of habeas corpus
1903
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36099 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Fines and forfeitures
1840-1859
1.00 volume

L 36100 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Orders
1883-1952
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36101 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Rules
1895-1951
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36102 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Appeals to the Court of General Sessions
1906
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36103 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations (recorded copy)
1897-1949
1.00 volume

L 36104 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Jurors, witnesses, and constables payrolls
ca. 1895-1897
1.00 volume

L 36105 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Witnesses payrolls
1897-1901
3.00 volumes

L 36106 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Recognizances
1893-1952
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36107 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Criminal statistics
1944
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36108 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Papers
1901-1933
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36142 Court of General Sessions (Newberry County)
Petitions to be excused from jury duty
1897-1935
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

District Court

L 36109 District Court (Newberry District)
Receipt books
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Magistrates Court

L 36111 Magistrates Court (Newberry County)
Criminal dockets
1870-1946
4.00 volumes

L 36112 Magistrates Court (Newberry County)
Civil dockets
1887-1896
1.00 volume
 

Sheriff

L 36113 Newberry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Writ books of the Sheriff
1913-1965
3.00 volumes

L 36114 Newberry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Jail books of the Sheriff
1913-1937
3.00 volumes

L 36115 Newberry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1832-1964
5.00 volumes

L 36165 Newberry County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax execution books of the Sheriff
1897-1912
1.00 volume
 

Coroner

L 36117 Newberry County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1879-1933
5.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 1.00 microfilm reel
 

Commissioners to Erect a New Jail

L 36116 Newberry County (S.C.). Commissioners to Erect a Jail.
Minutes of the Commissioners to Erect a Jail
1917-1919
1.00 volume

L 36140 Newberry County (S.C.). Commissioners to Erect a Jail.
County jail floor plans
ca. 1917
0.66 cubic ft.
 

Board of Honor

L 36118 Newberry County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Minutes of the Board of Honor
1901-1904
1.00 volume

L 36119 Newberry County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension papers
ca. 1890-1913
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

County Council

L 36120 Newberry County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1868-1882
2.00 volumes

L 36156 Newberry County (S.C.). County Council.
Chain gang books
1941-1961
1.00 volume
 

Commissioners of the Public Buildings

L 36121 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Public Buildings
1829-1868
1.00 volume

L 36122 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings
Rough minutes of the Commissioners of the Public Buildings
1840-1859
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36123 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Courthouse bids and securities
1850
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36124 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Specifications for the Newberry District jail
ca. 1855
0.0 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36125 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Accounts and receipts
1846-1868
0.33 cubic ft.

L 36126 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Statements of cessation of distillation of spirituous liquors
1866-1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36141 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Sheriff's reports on the condition of the jail
1847
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36144 Newberry District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Grand jury presentments
1849-1868
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Auditor

L 36127 Newberry County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1917-1951
10.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 36157 Newberry County (S.C.). Auditor.
Special school tax duplicate books
1906-1917
3.00 microfilm reels

L 36158 Newberry County (S.C.). Auditor.
Real estate conveyance books
1926-1931
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

Treasurer

L 36128 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General ledgers of the Treasurer
1868-1869
1.00 volume

L 36129 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General cashbooks of the Treasurer
1881-1884
1.00 volume

L 36130 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Official bonds
1843-1896
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 36159 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Record of county claims
1928-1935
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 36160 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1889-1949
50.00 microfilm reels

L 36161 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Fifteen percent delinquent tax lists
1882-1889
1.00 volume

L 36162 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Tax settlement books
1895-1928
2.00 volumes

L 36163 Newberry County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual school tax settlements of the Treasurer
1907-1923
1.00 volume
 

Commissioners to Ascertain the School Debt

L 36131 Newberry County (S.C.). Commissioners to Ascertain the School Debt.
Minutes of the Commissioners to Ascertain the School Debt
1879
1.00 volume
 

Board of Education

L 36164 Newberry County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1901-1910
3.00 volumes
 

Mixed Provenance

L 36132 Papers of mixed provenance
1801-1892
6.93 cubic ft., 2.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reels
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 36134 Improved Order of Heptasuphs (Newberry County, S.C.)
Membership rolls of the Improved Order of Heptasuphs
1901
1.00 volume

L 36135 John F. Peterson and Company, Cotton merchants of Newberry County, S.C.
Accounts and correspondence of John F. Peterson and Company
1838-1844
1.00 volume

L 36136 Johnson, James Anderson, of Newberry County, S.C.
Ledgers of James Anderson Johnson
1827-1863
1.00 volume

L 36137 Locomotive trip logs
1900
1.00 volume

L 36138 Smith, G. D., Merchant of Newberry County, S.C.
Ledgers of G. D. Smith
1858-1859
1.00 volume

L 36139 Ledgers of merchants
1818-1912
4.00 volumes

L 36166 Store account ledger
1851-1852
1.00 volume


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions