SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

ORANGEBURG COUNTY

Established in 1785 from part of Orangeburg District

Public records were removed to Columbia early in 1865; on 17 February 1865, they were burned there during Sherman's occupation

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 38001 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1865-1904, 1953-1954, 1974-1978
21.00 microfilm reels and 3.00 volumes

L 38002 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1866-1957
9.00 microfilm reels

L 38003 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of agricultural lien books
1880-1950
6.00 microfilm reels

L 38004 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Fee books
1866-1874
1.00 volume

L 38114 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds books
1868-1894
1.00 volume
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 38005 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1784-1867
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)
 

Clerk of Court

L 38006 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Precinct lists
1918
3.00 volumes

L 38007 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of county officials
1865-1910
1.00 volume

L 38008 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of public bonds issued
1929-1930
1.00 volume

L 38009 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of motor vehicles
1915-1917
1.00 volume

L 38010 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916-1920
1.00 volume

L 38011 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Letters sent
1890-1893
1.00 volume

L 38012 Democratic Party (Orangeburg County, S.C.)
Democratic club rolls
1926-1942; (bulk 1926-1934)
3.00 volumes

L 38120 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Papers
ca. 1900-1950
3.00 cubic ft.

L 38126 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Revocation of commissions
1913-1951
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

County Court

L 38013 County Court (Orangeburg County)
Civil journals
1925-1938
3.00 volumes

L 38014 County Court (Orangeburg County)
Criminal journals
1925-1942
3.00 volumes

L 38015 County Court (Orangeburg County)
Civil calendars
1925-1953; (bulk 1925-1936)
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38016 County Court (Orangeburg County)
Criminal dockets
1925-1938
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38119 County Court (Orangeburg County)
Papers
ca. 1920-1950
3.00 cubic ft.
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 38017 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Civil journals
1865-1935
28.00 volumes

L 38020 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Pleadings and judgments
1865-1875
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 38021 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Abstracts of citizens' copies of judgments (1854-1865)
1865-1873
1.00 volume

L 38022 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Abstracts of judgments
1865-1903
1.00 volume

L 38023 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Issue dockets
1869-1871
1.00 volume

L 38024 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Rules books
1884-1931
4.00 volumes

L 38025 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Inquiry dockets
1866-1867
1.00 volume

L 38026 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 1
1871-1927
2.00 microfilm reels

L 38027 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 2
1871-1975
3.00 microfilm reels

L 38028 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 3
1871-1974
2.00 microfilm reels

L 38029 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 4
1871-1883
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38030 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 5
1871-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 38031 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Calendar no. 6
1874-1883
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38032 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Judge's calendar no. 2
1915-1922
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 38033 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Bar dockets
1866-1867
1.00 volume

L 38034 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Public guardian journals
1881-1924
1.00 volume

L 38035 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Receipt books
1892-1928
1.00 volume

L 38036 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Summary process dockets
1867-1870
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 38037 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
ca. 1866-1869
1.00 cubic ft.

L 38038 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Transcripts of judgment dockets
1871
1.00 volume

L 38039 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Abstracts of citizens' copies of decrees in summary process (1854-1865)
1865-1872
1.00 volume

L 38040 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process
1866-1869
3.00 volumes

L 38041 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity minutes
1869-1871
1.00 volume

L 38042 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity report books
1869-1887
2.00 volumes

L 38043 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity bill dockets
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 38044 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity petition dockets
1869-1871
1.00 volume

L 38045 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity decree books
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 38046 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Money decrees books
1869-1870
1.00 volume

L 38047 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Equity file books
1871-1880
1.00 volume

L 38111 Court of Common Pleas (Orangeburg County)
Judgment rolls
1865-1952
178.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels
 

Court of Equity

L 38048 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Equity report books
1866-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38049 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Equity bill dockets
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38050 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Equity petition dockets
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38051 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Equity decree books
1866-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38052 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Money decrees books
1867-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38053 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Equity file books
1865-1868
1.00 volume

L 38054 Court of Equity (Orangeburg District)
Partition books
1824-1837
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 3.00 volumes
 

Master

L 38056 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1866-1929
6.00 volumes

L 38057 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Master.
Ledgers of the Master
1879-1895
2.00 volumes

L 38058 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Master.
Receipt books
1884-1889
1.00 volume
 

Probate Court

L 38059 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Estate papers 
1865-1917
96.00 microfilm reels and 2.00 volumes

L 38060 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Will books
1864-1957
5.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 38061 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Cashbooks of the Probate Judge
1866-1911
1.00 volume

L 38062 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Real estate books
1866-1881
1.00 volume

L 38063 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Plats for writs of partition
1865-1873
0.33 cubic ft.

L 38064 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Liquor permits
ca. 1917
1.00 volume

L 38124 Probate Court (Orangeburg County)
Marriage licenses
1911-1951
59.00 microfilm reels
 

Court of General Sessions

L 38065 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Criminal journals
1866-1957
20.00 volumes

L 38066 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Indictments
1866-1963
31.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 volumes

L 38067 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Coroner's inquisitions
1901-1957
1.32 cubic ft.

L 38068 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Criminal dockets
1912-1954
2.00 microfilm reels

L 38069 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Contingent dockets
1866-1882
1.00 volume

L 38070 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Fines and forfeitures
1869-1938
1.00 volume

L 38071 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Criminal statistics
1900-1921
1.00 volume

L 38118 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Papers
ca. 1866-1950
1.00 cubic ft.

L 38125 Court of General Sessions (Orangeburg County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations
1906-1951
0.33 cubic ft.
 

District Court

L 38072 District Court (Orangeburg District)
Indictments (index)
1867-1868
1.00 volume

L 38073 District Court (Orangeburg District)
Criminal dockets
1867-1868
1.00 volume

L 38074 District Court (Orangeburg District)
Contingent dockets
1867-1868
1.00 volume

L 38109 District Court (Orangeburg District)
Summary process dockets
1866
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 38113 District Court (Orangeburg District)
Civil journals
1866-1868
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Magistrates Court

L 38075 Magistrates Court (Orangeburg County)
Criminal dockets
1877-1948
21.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 38076 Magistrates Court (Orangeburg County)
Civil dockets
1867-1925
7.00 volumes

L 38122 Magistrates Court (Orangeburg County)
Papers
ca. 1900-1950
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Sheriff

L 38079 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Writ books of the Sheriff
1866-1914
14.00 microfilm reels

L 38080 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Execution books of the Sheriff
1866-1934; (bulk 1892-1934)
6.00 microfilm reels

L 38081 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax execution books of the Sheriff
1865-1899
2.00 microfilm reels

L 38082 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1866-1949; (bulk 1881-1949)
4.00 microfilm reels

L 38121 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Papers
ca. 1940-1950
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Coroner

L 38077 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1885-1945
4.00 microfilm reels
 

Board of Honor

L 38083 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Minutes of the Board of Honor
1901-1918
1.00 volume

L 38084 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension rolls
1893-1919
2.00 volumes and 0.16 cubic ft.
 

County Council

L 38115 Orangeburg County (S.C.). County Council.
Audit reports
1967-1971
0.00 cubic ft.  (partial container)
 

Commissioners of the Roads

L 38085 Orangeburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Roads
1827-1834
2.00 volumes

Court House Commission

L 38078 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Court House Commission.
Minutes of the Court House Commission
1926-1936; (bulk 1927-1929)
2.00 volumes
 

Auditor

L 38086 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
Auditor's tax duplicate books
1870-1954; (bulk 1870-1915 and 1947-1954)
130.00 microfilm reels

L 38087 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable personal property
1868-1870
2.00 volumes

L 38088 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable real property
1868-1870
2.00 volumes

L 38089 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
Delinquent tax sales books of the Auditor
1872-1883
1.00 volume

L 38090 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
School tax correspondence and circulars
1883-1949
3.00 volumes
 

Treasurer

L 38091 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Treasurer's tax duplicate books
1916-1967
54.00 microfilm reels

L 38092 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General cashbooks of the Treasurer
1927-1962
6.00 volumes

L 38093 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
General ledgers of the Treasurer
1945-1959
1.00 volume

L 38094 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual county tax settlements of the Treasurer
1916-1927
1.00 volume

L 38095 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Annual school tax settlements of the Treasurer
1918-1927
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38096 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Cancelled bonds, coupons, and notes
1916-1938
1.00 cubic ft.

L 38097 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Tax abatements
1934-1935
0.16 cubic ft.

L 38098 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Cotton Control Act of 1934 referendum precinct lists
1935
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 38099 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Letters received
1891-1892
1.00 volume

L 38116 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Journals of the Treasurer
1954-1964
1.00 volume
 

Delinquent Tax Collector

L 38100 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Delinquent Tax Collector.
Delinquent tax sales books of the Delinquent Tax Collector
1870-1891
1.00 volume
 

Board of Control

L 38101 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Control.
Quarterly financial statements
1907-1916
1.00 volume

L 38112 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Control.
Liquor inspection book
1914
1.00 volume
 

Board of Education

L 38102 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Minutes of the Board of Education
1879-1894
1.00 volume

L 38103 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' certification record books
1871-1892
1.00 volume

L 38104 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' payrolls
1883-1887
1.00 volume

L 38105 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1870-1966
20.00 microfilm reels

L 38123 Orangeburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Census files of school children
ca. 1930-1975
12.00 cubic ft.
 

Mixed Provenance

L 38106 Papers of mixed provenance
ca. 1866-1930
2.00 cubic ft.

L 38110 Unarranged papers of the Courts of Common Pleas and County Court
1867-1960
17.00 cubic ft.
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 38107 Boynton, Moses, Jr., Leather worker of Orangeburg, S.C.
Daybooks of Moses Boynton, Jr.
1775-1779
1.00 microfilm reel

L 38108 Junior Order of United American Mechanics (Orangeburg County, S.C.)
Insurance books of the Junior Order of United American Mechanics
1913-1919
2.00 volumes


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions