SC Archives Summary GuideSouth Carolina Archives Summary Guide

SPARTANBURG COUNTY

Formed in 1785 from Ninety-Six District

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

L 42001 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1785-1911
80.00 microfilm reels

L 42002 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds
1837-1920
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42003 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds of constables
1823-1867; (bulk 1824-1854)
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42004 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Real estate mortgage books
1872-1906
32.00 microfilm reels

L 42005 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Crop and mechanics' lien books
1872-1873
1.00 microfilm reel

L 42006 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Citizens' copies of recorded instruments
ca. 1800-1879
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42280 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of conveyance books
1785-1809
11.00 volumes
 

Commissioner of Locations

L 42007 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Warrants of survey
1849-1858
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42008 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Commissioner of Locations.
Plat books
1802-1870
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Clerk of Court

L 42009 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Voter registration books
1882-1897; (bulk 1883-1886)
2.00 volumes

L 42010 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Commissions and appointments
1885-1903
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42011 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Appointments and resignations of constables
1810-1859
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42012 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Oaths of office
1877-1921
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42013 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of constables, magistrates, and trial justices
1840-1965
2.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 42014 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of attorneys
1869-1878
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 42015 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of medical practitioners
1882-1968
1.00 microfilm reel

L 42016 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Election files
1855-1900
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42017 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Tax returns lists
1844-1863
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42018 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Venire facias writs
1800-1910
1.33 cubic ft.

L 42019 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Apprenticeship files
1798-1873
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42020 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Bonds to truck and peddle
1833-1835
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42021 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Estrays
1821-1881
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42022 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Record of estrays
1836-1876; (bulk 1837-1856)
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42023 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Revolutionary War pension applications
ca. 1820-1860
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42024 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Lists of Revolutionary War pension applicants
1833-1834
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42025 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Powers of attorney
1859-1890
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42026 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Powers of attorney over Confederate claims
1864
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42027 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Petitions to be excused from jury duty
1807-1910
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42028 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Jury lists
1857-1888
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42029 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Jury books
1898-1902
0.16 cubic ft.

L 42030 Democratic Party (Spartanburg County, S.C.)
Democratic club rolls
1906-1908
1.00 volume

L 42031 Democratic Party (Spartanburg County, S.C.)
Democratic club contacts books
1908
1.00 volume
 

County and Intermediate Court

L 42032 County and Intermediate Court (Spartanburg County)
Journals of the County and Intermediate Court
1785-1799
2.00 microfilm reels and 7.00 volumes

L 42033 County and Intermediate Court (Spartanburg County)
Orders books
1790-1799
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42034 County and Intermediate Court (Spartanburg County)
Grand jury presentments
1790
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42035 County and Intermediate Court (Spartanburg County)
Recognizances and peace bonds
1788-1796
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42036 County and Intermediate Court (Spartanburg County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
1798
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Court of Common Pleas

L 42037 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Civil journals
1800-1900
10.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 33.00 volumes

L 42038 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Rough civil journals
1800-1855; (bulk 1823-1845)
2.00 microfilm reels and 13.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 42039 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Judgment rolls
1800-1920
94.49 cubic ft., 6.00 volumes, and 8.00 microfilm reels

L 42040 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Judgment books
1805-1838; (bulk 1819-1838)
3.00 volumes and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 42041 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Pleadings and judgments
1800-1900
13.00 microfilm reels and 21.00 volumes

L 42042 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Abstracts of judgments
1800-1909
2.00 microfilm reels and 2.00 volumes

L 42043 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Abstracts of judgments (obsolete)
1800-1840
2.00 volumes

L 42044 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Suggestions
1823-1834
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42045 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Appeals to the Supreme Court
1897
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42046 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Appeal bonds
1819-1853
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42047 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Appeals from the Magistrates Court
1801-1907
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42048 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Writ books of the Court of Common Pleas
1808-1870; (bulk 1809-1828)
3.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 42049 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Issue dockets
1866-1871
2.00 volumes

L 42050 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Calendar no. 1
1871-1907; (bulk 1872-1880)
1.00 microfilm reel

L 42051 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Calendar no. 2
1884-1888
0.00 microfilm reel (partial container)

L 42052 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Calendar no. 3
1873-1888
1.00 microfilm reel

L 42053 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Execution dockets
1805-1807
1.00 volume

L 42054 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Bar dockets
1840-1889
2.00 volumes

L 42055 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Rules
1839-1869
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42056 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Public guardian files
1887-1921; (bulk 1909-1915)
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42057 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Public guardian journals
1885-1925
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42058 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk
1831-1833
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42059 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk (recorded copy)
1837-1861
2.00 volumes

L 42060 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Affidavits in support of dedimus potestatums
ca. 1800-1858
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42061 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Deposition files
ca. 1820-1863
1.00 cubic ft.

L 42062 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Petitions for guardianship of free persons of color
1823-1863
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42063 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Affidavits files
1803-1901
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42064 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Writs of attachment
1802-1900
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42065 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Guardian ad litem bonds
1809-1820
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42066 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Undertakings
1805-1919
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42067 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Undertakings (abstracts)
1869-1883
1.00 volume

L 42068 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Trover bonds
1829-1845
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42069 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Receiver bonds
1912
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42070 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Attachment bonds
1804-1901
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42071 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Bonds to seize crops under lien
1886-1900
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42072 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Bonds and mortgages
1869-1887
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42073 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Taxation of costs files
1823-1869
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42074 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Bail bonds (special)
1805-1817; (bulk 1806-1810)
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42075 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Petitions and property schedules of insolvent debtors
1806-1857
1.32 cubic ft.

L 42076 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Bastardy processes
ca. 1804-1863
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42077 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Garnishee returns
1809-1843
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42078 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Returns of writs of caveat
1808
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42079 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Orders
1800-1911
1.00 cubic ft.

L 42080 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Sales books of the Court of Common Pleas
1887
1.00 volume

L 42081 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Rules books
1800-1871
2.00 volumes

L 42082 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Capias ad satisfaciendum executions
1823-1837
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42083 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Scire facias executions
1829
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42084 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Fieri facias executions
1810-1855
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42085 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Declarations of intent to become a citizen
1856-1861
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42086 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Citizenship petitions
ca. 1809-1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42087 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Citizenship petitions books
1908
1.00 volume

L 42088 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Citizenship petitions for military service
1918
14.00 volumes

L 42089 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Duplicate certificates of naturalization books
1920-1923
1.00 volume

L 42090 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Subpoena writs
1802-1870
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42091 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Petitions to practice law
1902-1908
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42092 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Papers
n.d.
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42093 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Receipts for executions
1873
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42094 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Petitions and decrees in summary process
1800-1868
25.81 cubic ft. (includes partial container), 2.00 microfilm reels, and 3.00 volumes

L 42095 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process
1800-1870; (bulk 1801-1861)
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42096 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Abstracts of decrees in summary process (obsolete)
1822-1840
1.00 volume

L 42097 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity minutes
1869-1890
2.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 42098 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity bills
1869-1871
2.00 cubic ft.

L 42100 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Petitions for instruction on the division of equity records
1869
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42101 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity decrees
1894-1907
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42102 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity decree books
1869
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42103 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity report books
1869-1870
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42104 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Divorce proceedings
1869-1878
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42105 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity file books
1869-1879
1.00 volume

L 42106 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity dockets
1869-1874
1.00 volume

L 42282 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Equity records (general index)
1869-1878
2.00 microfilm reels and 4.00 volumes

L 42283 Court of Common Pleas (Spartanburg County)
Appearance books
1858-1866
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Court of Equity

L 42107 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity minutes
1820-1868
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 5.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 42108 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity bills
1821-1868
8.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container) and 5.00 microfilm reels

L 42109 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity petitions
1821-1868
1.00 cubic ft.

L 42110 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity decree books
1823-1868
3.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 42111 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity report books
1844-1868
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 42112 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Annual reports of the Commissioner in Equity
1847-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42114 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Bond books
1841-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 42118 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
1842-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 42119 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity dockets
1855-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 42120 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Appearance books
1844-1855
1.00 volume

L 42121 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity file books
1841-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 42124 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Fieri facias executions
1826-1868
0.00 cubic ft. (partial volume)

L 42125 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity papers
ca. 1828-1868
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42281 Court of Equity (Spartanburg District)
Equity records (general index)
1821-1868
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Master

L 42113 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Bonds
ca. 1829-1868
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42115 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Guardian, trustee, and committee bonds
1821-1865
1.00 cubic ft.

L 42116 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Mortgages to the Master/Commissioner in Equity
1829-1868
0.16 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

L 42117 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Guardian, trustee, and committee accounts
ca. 1821-1867
2.00 cubic ft.

L 42122 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Equity rules
1824-1868
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42123 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Stock books
1840-1867
1.00 volume

L 42126 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Minutes of the Master
1841-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42127 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1841-1870
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42128 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Annual reports of the Commissioner in Equity
1836-1867; (bulk 1839-1865)
0.15 cubic ft.

L 42129 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Master.
Accounts of J. C. Waddle
1872-1873
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Court of Ordinary

L 42141 Court of Ordinary (Spartanburg District)
Warrants of appraisement
1816-1827
2.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 42142 Court of Ordinary (Spartanburg District)
Inventories and appraisements books
1811-1840
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 10.00 volumes
 

Probate Court

L 42130 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Estate papers
1787-1900
44.40 cubic ft. and 151.00 microfilm reels

L 42131 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Will books
1810-1903
4.00 microfilm reels and 14.00 volumes

L 42133 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Wills (transcripts)
ca. 1903-1910
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42134 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Returns books
1836-1900; (bulk 1840-1900)
10.00 microfilm reels and 13.00 volumes

L 42135 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Bond books
1840-1870
2.00 microfilm reels and 2.00 volumes

L 42136 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Bonds
1871-1879
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42137 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Mortgages to the Probate Judge
1870-1877
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42138 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Administration bond books
1856-1917
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 42139 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Administration bonds with will annexed books
1878-1918
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42140 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1857-1905; (bulk 1858-1900)
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 42143 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1840-1904
7.00 microfilm reels and 21.00 volumes

L 42144 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Real estate papers
1825-1900
5.88 cubic ft. and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 42145 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Real estate books
1825-1904; (bulk 1840-1904)
4.00 microfilm reels and 5.00 volumes

L 42146 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Real estate cashbooks
1830-1911
7.00 volumes and 3.00 microfilm reels

L 42147 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Journals of the Probate Court
1800-1907; (bulk 1801-1864)
4.00 microfilm reels and 7.00 volumes

L 42148 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Distribution of state pension fund books
1916-1919
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42149 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Letters dismissory files
1911
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42150 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Petitions for the appointment of guardian ad litem
1882-1900
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42151 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Fee books
1830-1868
3.00 volumes

L 42152 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Correspondence with the United States Pension Department
1853-1920
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42153 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Papers
1823-1968
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42278 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
General correspondence
1909
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42279 Probate Court (Spartanburg County)
Receipts for monies and records of the Probate Court
1919
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Court of General Sessions

L 42155 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Criminal journals
1800-1901
8.00 microfilm reels and 22.00 volumes

L 42156 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Rough criminal journals
1804-1904
18.00 volumes and 0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42157 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Indictments
1800-1956
85.57 cubic ft., 1.00 microfilm reel, and 2.00 volumes

L 42158 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Criminal dockets
1848-1908
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 42159 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Rough criminal dockets
1888
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42160 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Appeals from the Magistrates Court
1819-1908
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42161 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Fines and forfeitures (extracts)
1804-1826
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42162 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Fines and forfeitures
1840-1907
2.00 volumes

L 42163 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Appeals to the Supreme Court
1909
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42164 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Coroner's inquisitions
1803-1908
1.99 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 42165 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Petitions to the grand jury
1846
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42166 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Grand jury presentments
1800-1908
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42167 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Pardons, paroles, and commutations
1901-1904
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42168 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the County Commissioners
1883-1891
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42169 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the County Commissioners on railroad crossings
1886-1890
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42170 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the Commissioners of the Poor
1810-1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42171 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the Commissioners of the Public Buildings
1846-1866
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42172 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the Commissioners of the Roads
1810-1863
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42173 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the School Commissioner
1882-1889
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42174 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the Solicitor on district offices
1839-1895
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42175 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the County Treasurer
1883-1891
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42176 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Annual reports of the County Treasurer on the county orphanage children
attending Spartanburg City Schools
1932
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42177 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Arrest warrants
1873-1908
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42178 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Arrest warrants for witnesses
1901-1918
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42179 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Writs of habeas corpus
1800-1890
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42180 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Lunacy inquiries
1849-1859
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42181 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Sheriff's returns
1867-1900
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42182 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Venire facias writs for constables
1800-1824
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42183 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Jury lists
1903-1904
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42184 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Jurors and constables payrolls
1886-1898
1.00 volume

L 42185 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Witnesses payrolls
1888-1895
1.00 volume

L 42186 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Scire facias executions
1800-1904
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42187 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Scire facias executions against defaulting jurors
1802-1841
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42188 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Capias ad satisfaciendum executions
1800-1858
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42189 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Fieri facias executions
1801-1856
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42190 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Fieri facias executions against defaulting jurors
1801-1805
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42191 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Bench warrants
1802-1918
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42192 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Affidavits files
1812-1831
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42193 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Orders
ca. 1803-1910
0.66 cubic ft.

L 42194 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Rules
1809-1901
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42195 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Magistrates' reports of convictions for swearing
1806-1809
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42196 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Peace bonds
1800-1905; (bulk 1801-1868)
1.33 cubic ft.

L 42197 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Bail bonds
1898-1922
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42198 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Court costs assessed the county
1900
1.00 volume

L 42199 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Receipts for fines turned over to the County Treasurer
1871-1947; (bulk 1923-1947)
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42200 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Criminal statistics (drafts)
1902
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42285 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Appeals dockets
1913-1932
1.00 microfilm reel

L 42286 Court of General Sessions (Spartanburg County)
Indictments and other general session papers (index)
1909-1960
1.00 microfilm reel
 

District Court

L 42201 District Court (Spartanburg District)
Criminal journals
1867-1868
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 42202 District Court (Spartanburg District)
Criminal dockets
1865-1868
0.00 volume (partial volume)

L 42203 District Court (Spartanburg District)
Indictments
1867-1868
0.66 cubic ft.

L 42204 District Court (Spartanburg District)
Sheriff's returns of prisoners in jail
1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42205 District Court (Spartanburg District)
Sentences issued by the District Court
ca. 1867
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Magistrates Court

L 42206 Magistrates Court (Spartanburg County)
Dockets of the Magistrates Court
1842-1853
1.00 volume

L 42207 Magistrates Court (Spartanburg County)
Civil dockets
1895-1896
1.00 volume

L 42208 Magistrates Court (Spartanburg County)
Criminal dockets
1912-1914
2.00 volumes

L 42209 Magistrates Court (Spartanburg County)
List of marriages
1845-1848
1.00 volume

L 42210 Magistrates Court (Spartanburg County)
Execution books of the Magistrates
1845-1846
0.00 volume (partial volume)
 

Court of Magistrates and Freeholders

L 42211 Court of Magistrates and Freeholders (Spartanburg District)
Trial papers
1824-1865
2.00 cubic ft. and 3.00 microfilm reels

L 42212 Court of Magistrates and Freeholders (Spartanburg District)
Vagrancy trials
1807-1857
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Sheriff

L 42213 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Writ books of the Sheriff
1807-1902
8.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 42214 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Executions of the Sheriff
ca. 1812-1841
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42215 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Execution books of the Sheriff
1804-1909
18.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 42216 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax executions of the Sheriff
1817-1855
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42217 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Tax execution books of the Sheriff
1867-1868
2.00 microfilm reels

L 42218 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Sales books of the Sheriff
1842-1909
3.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume

L 42219 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Jail books of the Sheriff
1889-1905
2.00 microfilm reels

L 42220 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Receipt books
1804-1809
1.00 volume

L 42221 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Receipts for records and equipment turned over to successors
1846-1859
1.00 volume
 

Board of Honor

L 42222 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension applications
1861-1935; (bulk 1919-1935)
1.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels

L 42223 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate widows pension applications
1919-1935
2.00 microfilm reels

L 42224 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension rolls
1889-1935; (bulk 1919-1935)
2.00 volumes, 0.00 cubic ft. (partial container), and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 42226 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate widows pension rolls
1923-1935
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

County Council

L 42227 Spartanburg County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1877-1950
4.00 microfilm reels and 8.00 volumes

L 42228 Spartanburg County (S.C.). County Council.
Chain gang books
1895-1917
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 42229 Spartanburg County (S.C.). County Council.
Annual reports of the County Council
1933-1950
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Commissioners of the Poor

L 42230 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Poor.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Poor
1796-1827
1.00 volume
 

Commissioners of the Roads

L 42231 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Minutes of the Commissioners of the Roads
1825-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 42232 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Rough minutes of the Commissioners of the Roads
1809-1813
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42233 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Road petitions
1827-1831
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42234 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Orders books
1800-1803
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 42235 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Estrays
1825
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42236 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Conveyances
1828-1830
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42237 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Tavern license bonds
1800-1830
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42238 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
List of licenses to retail spirituous liquors
1820
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42239 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Reports of bids
1828-1832; (bulk 1828-1829)
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42240 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Executions
1804-1831
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42241 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
General correspondence
1828
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42242 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Roads.
Receipts
1828-1865
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Commissioners of the Public Buildings

L 42243 Spartanburg District (S.C.). Commissioners of the Public Buildings.
Receipts
1858-1860
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Auditor

L 42244 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Auditor.
Assessor's returns of taxable personal property for 4th District
1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume
 

Militia

L 42277 Militia. Courts Martial (Spartanburg District)
Returns of Courts Martial
1860
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Board of Education

L 42247 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Minutes of the Board of Education
1870-1996
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 cubic ft.

L 42248 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' certification record books
1870-1928
6.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

L 42249 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
List of school district trustees
1901-1909
1.00 volume

L 42250 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' payrolls
1876-1910
2.00 volumes

L 42251 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General cashbooks of the Superintendent
1894-1896
1.00 volume

L 42252 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1881-1907
8.00 volumes

L 42253 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Register of claims
1894-1898
1.00 volume

L 42254 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Letters sent
1890-1909
14.00 volumes

L 42255 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Letters received
1910
1.00 volume

L 42256 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Census files of school children for Spartanburg Township No. 1
1874-1875
1.00 volume

L 42257 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual reports of the Superintendent of Education
1883-1951
3.00 microfilm reels and 1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 42258 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Record books
1877-1911; (bulk 1878-1907)
17.00 volumes

L 42259 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Works Progress Administration inventory of county schools
1935
2.00 cubic ft. and 5.00 microfilm reels

L 42260 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Reports to the Works Progress Administration on the condition of the schools
1937
0.16 cubic ft.

L 42261 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Federal Works Agency files
1935-1944
0.16 cubic ft.

L 42262 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Professional library check out records
1871-1882
1.00 volume

L 42287 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Titles to real estate
ca. 1858-1940
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42288 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' examination record books
1902-1923
2.00 volumes

L 42289 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Register of teachers
ca. 1936
1.00 volume

L 42290 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual report research material
1889-1893
1.00 volume

L 42291 Spartanburg County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Check registers
1944-1945
8.00 volumes

L 42293 Spartanburg County Trustee Association (S.C.)
Minute book of the Spartanburg County Trustee Association
1916-1924
1.00 volume
 

County Teachers Association Board

L 42292 Spartanburg County Teachers' Association (S.C.)
Ledgers of the Spartanburg County Teachers' Association
1933-1941
10.00 volumes

L 42294 Spartanburg County Teachers' Association (S.C.)
Minutes of the Spartanburg County Teachers' Association
1926-1928
1.00 volume

L 42295 Spartanburg County Teachers' Association (S.C.)
Reports of the Fair Committee
1925-1928
1.00 volume
 

Board of Trustees

L 42263 School District No. 1 (Reidsville, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Record books of School District No. 1 (Reidsville, S.C.)
1873-1888
2.00 volumes

L 42264 School District No. 15 (Spartanburg, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Record books of School District No. 15 (Spartanburg, S.C.)
1873-1881
1.00 volume

L 42265 School District No. 51 (Woodruff, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Record books of School District No. 51 (Woodruff, S.C.)
1893-1896
1.00 volume
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 42266 Fannere, James.
Affidavits of James Fannere
1787
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42267 Wills (certified copies)
1822-1848
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42268 Gardner, P. A., Watchmaker and Jeweler of Spartanburg County, S.C.
Cashbooks of P. A. Gardner
1887-1890
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 42269 Spartanburg County Orphanage (S.C.)
Files of the director of the Spartanburg County Orphanage
1928-1932
0.33 cubic ft.

L 42270 Foster and Judd, Merchant bankers of Newberry County, S.C.
List of notes to be collected and bonds sold
ca. 1860-1865
1.00 volume

L 42271 Mason, Jesse, Farmer and Constable of Spartanburg County, S.C.
Account books of Jesse Mason
1843-1844
1.00 volume

L 42272 Plats
ca. 1803-1882
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42273 Poole, R. C., Merchant of Spartanburg County, S.C.
Account books of R. C. Poole
1843-1844
1.00 volume

L 42274 Spartanburg County Bar Association (S.C.)
Resolutions of the Spartanburg County Bar Association
1886-1889
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42275 Agricultural Society of Spartanburg (Spartanburg, S.C.)
Rules and regulations of the Agricultural Society of Spartanburg
1829-1872
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42276 Papers
ca. 1824-1919
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 42284 Ledgers
n.d.
2.00 volumes

L 42296 Cotton account book
1903
1.00 volume


Guide to County Records || Research || Research Questions