SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS ADMINISTRATION

(RG: 602700)

 

Admiralty Court

F 602774 Admiralty Court.
Pre-federal admiralty court records, province and state of South Carolina, 1716-1789 (Microcopy Nos. M1180 and T309)
1716-1789
7.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 volume
 

Army

F 602715 United States. Army. Paymaster General.
Numbered record books concerning military operations and service, pay and settlement of accounts, and supplies in the War Dept. collection of Revolutionary War records (Microcopy No. M853)
ca. 1783-1785
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Commissioner for Marking the Graves of Confederate Dead

F 602739 United States. Commissioner for Marking the Graves of Confederate Dead.
Register of Confederate soldiers, sailors, and citizens who died in Federal prisons and military hospitals in the North (Microcopy No. M918)
1861-1865
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Commissioners of Claims

F 602749 United States. Commissioners of Claims.
Records of the Commissioners of Claims (Southern Claims Commission) (Microcopy No. M87)
1871-1880
14.00 microfilm reels
 

Comptroller of the Currency

F 602766 United States. Comptroller of the Currency.
Register of signatures of depositors in branches of the Freedmen's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-1874 (Microcopy No. M816)
1865-1874
4.00 microfilm reels

F 602767 United States. Comptroller of the Currency.
Indexes to deposit ledgers in branches of the Freedmen's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-1874 (Microcopy No. M817)
1865-1874
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602790 United States. Comptroller of the Currency.
Journal of the Board of Trustees and minutes of committees and inspectors of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company (Microcopy No. M874)
1865-1874
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Confederate States of America

F 602738 Confederate States of America. War Dept.
Confederate States Army casualties: lists and narrative reports (Microcopy No. M836)
1861-1865
7.00 microfilm reels
 

Continental Army

F 602714 United States. Continental Army.
Revolutionary War rolls (Microcopy No. M246)
1775-1783
4.00 microfilm reels and 0.66 cubic ft.
 

Continental Congress

F 602703 United States. Continental Congress.
Papers of the Continental Congress (Microcopy No. M247)
1774-1789
204.00 microfilm reels

F 602704 United States. Continental Congress.
Miscellaneous papers of the Continental Congress (Microcopy No. M332)
1774-1789
10.00 microfilm reels
 

Continental Congress. Commissioner for Settling U.S. Accounts in Europe

F 602708 United States. Continental Congress. Commissioner for Settling U.S. Accounts in Europe.
Foreign ledgers, public agents in Europe (Microcopy No. M1004, formerly T244)
1776-1787
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Continental Congress. Marine Committee

F 602710 United States. Continental Congress. Marine Committee.
Marine committee letterbook (Microcopy No. T409)
1776-1780
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Court of Appeals in Cases of Capture

F 602709 United States. Court of Appeals in Cases of Capture.
The Revolutionary War prize cases: records of the Court of Appeals in Cases of Capture (Microcopy No. M162)
1776-1787
15.00 microfilm reels
 

Bureau of Customs

F 602780 United States. Bureau of Customs.
Copies of lists of passengers arriving at miscellaneous ports on the Atlantic and Gulf coasts and at ports on the Great Lakes, 1820-1873 (Microcopy No. M575)
1820-1828
1.00 microfilm reel
 

District Court

F 602775 United States. District Court (South Carolina)
Admiralty final record books and minutes for the District Court, District of South
Carolina, 1790-1857 (Microcopy No. 1182)
1790-1860
7.00 microfilm reels, 0.01 microfilm reel, and 3.00 volumes

F 602776 United States. District Court (South Carolina)
Minutes, circuit and district courts, District of South Carolina, 1789-1849, and index to judgments, circuit and district courts, 1792-1874 (Microcopy No. 1181)
1789-1874
4.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

F 602779 United States. District Court (South Carolina)
Record of admissions to citizenship, District of South Carolina (Microcopy No. M1183)
1790-1906
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Federal Convention of 1787

F 602707 United States. Federal Convention of 1787.
The records of the Constitutional Convention of 1787 (Microcopy No. M866)
1785-1787
1.00 microfilm reel
 

General Accounting Office

F 602791 United States. General Accounting Office.
Letters sent by the Commissioner of Customs relating to smuggling (Microcopy No. M497)
1865-1869
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Immigration and Naturalization Service

F 602793 United States. Immigration and Naturalization Service.
Passenger lists of vessels arriving at Georgetown, South Carolina, 1923-1939, and at Apalachicola, Boynton, Boca Grande...and Stuart Florida, 1902-1942 (Microcopy No. M1842)
1902-1942
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Dept. of Justice

F 602745 United States. Dept. of Justice.
Letters received by the U.S. Dept. of Justice from South Carolina (Microcopy No. M947)
1871-1884
9.00 microfilm reels
 

Loan Office

F 602719 United States. Loan Office.
Loan Office records relating to the loan of 1790-South Carolina (Microcopy No. T719)
1790-1835
3.00 microfilm reels
 

Miscellaneous

F 602717 Fairies, Arthur, Revolutionary War soldier.
Arthur Fairies' journal of the expedition against the Cherokees
1776
2.00 microfilm reels
 

National Archives and Records Administration

F 602781 United States. National Archives and Records Administration.
Index to War of 1812 service records, South Carolina (Microcopy No. M652)
1812-1814
7.00 microfilm reels

F 602786 United States. National Archives and Records Administration.
Publications of the National Archives (Microcopy No. M248)
1941-1956
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602787 United States. National Archives and Records Administration.
Federal population and mortality schedules, 1790-1910, in the National Archives and the States; Special List 24
1986
2.00 microfiche
 

National Guard Bureau

F 602784 United States. National Guard Bureau.
Records of the National Guard Bureau, selected documents pertaining to annual returns, 1822-1902, South Carolina (Microcopy No. NCWN 69-528)
1822-1902
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Navy/Navy Dept.

F 602711 Navy.
Log-book of the frigate South Carolina on a voyage from Texel, the Netherlands, to Charleston
1781-1782
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602725 United States. Navy Dept. Naval Records Collection.
Area files of the Naval Records Collection, 1775-1910 (Microcopy No. M625)
1775-1799
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602743 United States. Navy Dept.
Letters to the United States Secretary of the Navy from the commanding officer of the South Atlantic Blockading Squadron (Microcopy No. M89)
1861
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602765 United States. Navy Dept.
Naval War of the Rebellion: official records of the Union and Confederate navies (Microcopy No. M275)
1861-1865
31.00 microfilm reels
 

Post Office Dept.

F 602778 United States. Post Office Dept.
Records of appointments of postmasters (Microcopy Nos. M841 and M1131)
1789-1971
5.00 microfilm reels
 

President

F 602748 United States. President Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)
Case files for applications from former Confederates for Presidential pardons (Microcopy No. M1003)
1865-1867
5.00 microfilm reels
 

Bureau of Public Debt

F 602718 United States. Bureau of Public Debt.
Portions of registrar's estimates and statements containing listings of records
1796-1797
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602720 United States. Bureau of Public Debt.
Central Treasury records relating to the loan of 1790 (Microcopy No. T786)
1792-1798
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands

F 602750 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Letters sent
1865-1870
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602751 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Endorsements sent
1865-1870
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602752 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Registers of letters received
1865-1870
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602753 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Letters received
1865-1870
18.00 microfilm reels

F 602754 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Records relating to restoration of property
1865-1869
9.00 microfilm reels

F 602755 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Reports
1865-1868
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602756 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Orders and circulars
1866-1869
4.00 microfilm reels

F 602757 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Records relating to the issuance of rations
1863-1869
5.00 microfilm reels and 0.01 microfilm reel

F 602758 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Records relating to contracts
1866-1868
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602759 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Records relating to legal actions
1865-1868
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602760 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Quartermaster's records
1865-1868
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602761 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Personnel records
1865-1868
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602762 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Records relating to transportation
1865-1868
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602763 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Freedmen's Bureau (Microcopy No. M869), Miscellaneous records
1865-1867
0.01 microfilm reel

F 602768 United States. Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen, and Abandoned Lands.
Assistant Commissioner for the State of South Carolina.
Records of the Education Division of the Freedmen's Bureau for South Carolina (Microcopy No. M803)
1865-1871
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Selective Service System

F 602785 United States. Selective Service System.
Selective service system WWI draft registration cards (Microcopy No. M1509)
1917-1919
51.00 microfilm reels
 

Dept. of State

F 602705 United States. Dept. of State.
Foreign letters of the Continental Congress and the Dept. of State (Microcopy
No. M61)
1785-1790
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602706 United States. Dept. of State.
Domestic letters of the Dept. of State (Microcopy No. M40)
1784-1792
4.00 microfilm reels

F 602716 United States. Dept. of State.
Certificates of ratification of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, including related correspondence and rejections of proposed amendments (Microcopy No. M338)
1787-1792
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Treasury Dept.

F 602722 United States. Treasury Dept.
Correspondence of the Secretary of the Treasury with customs collectors (Microcopy No. M178)
1787-1833
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602777 United States. Treasury Dept.
Letters received by the Secretary of the Treasury from customs collectors, 1833-1869 (Microcopy No. M174)
1833-1869
26.00 microfilm reels
 

Treasury Dept. Commissioner of Internal Revenue.

F 602744 United States. Treasury Dept. Commissioner of Internal Revenue.
Internal Revenue assessment lists for South Carolina (Microcopy No. M789)
1864-1866
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Treasury Dept. First Auditor

F 602721 United States. Treasury Dept. First Auditor.
Register of audits of miscellaneous Treasury accounts (Microcopy No. T899)
1790-1814
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Veterans Administration

F 602701 United States. Veterans Administration.
Pension and bounty-land warrant application files based on Revolutionary War service (Microcopy No. M804)
1800-1900
2669.00 microfilm reels

F 602702 United States. Veterans Administration.
Index to Revolutionary War pension applications and bounty land warrant files (Microcopy No. M312)
1800-1900
15.00 microfilm reels

F 602794 United States. Veterans Administration.
Organization index to pension files of veterans who served between 1861 and 1900 (Microcopy No. T289)
n.d.
1.00 microfilm reel
 

War Dept.

F 602712 United States. War Dept.
Miscellaneous numbered records (the manuscript file) in the War Dept. collection of Revolutionary War records (Microcopy No. M859)
ca. 1775-1790
6.00 microfilm reels

F 602726 United States. War Dept.
Orders, returns, morning reports, and accounts of British Troops, 1776-1781 (Microcopy No. M922)
1776-1781
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602735 United States. War Dept.
Consolidated index to compiled service records of Confederate soldiers (Microcopy No. M253)
1861-1865
536.00 microfilm reels

F 602736 United States. War Dept.
Compiled service records of Confederate soldiers who served in organizations from the state of South Carolina (Microcopy No. M267)
1861-1865
393.00 microfilm reels

F 602737 United States. War Dept.
Compiled service records of Confederate general and staff officers and nonregimental enlisted men (Microcopy No. M331)
1861-1865
275.00 microfilm reels

F 602741 United States. War Dept.
The War of the Rebellion: official records of the Union and Confederate armies (Microcopy No. M262)
1861-1865
128.00 microfilm reels

F 602742 United States. War Dept.
Records relating to Confederate naval and marine personnel (Microcopy No. M260)
1861-1865
7.00 microfilm reels

F 602764 United States. War Dept.
Prison roll no. 130, Fort Delaware (the immortal 600)
1864
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602769 United States. War Dept.
Selected muster rolls of South Carolina organizations
1861-1865
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602770 United States. War Dept.
Lists of South Carolina organization records
1861-1865
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602771 United States. War Dept.
Compiled service records of Confederate soldiers in organizations raised directly by the Confederate government (Microcopy No. M258)
1861-1865
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602772 United States. War Dept.
Confederate papers relative to citizens or business firms (Microcopy No. M346)
1861-1865
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602773 United States. War Dept.
Index to compiled service records of Confederate soldiers from South Carolina (Microcopy No. M381)
1861-1865
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602788 United States. War Dept.
Muster rolls and lists of Confederate troops paroled in North Carolina (Microcopy No. M1781)
1862-1865
7.00 microfilm reels

F 602792 United States. War Dept.
Selected records of the War Department relating to Confederate prisoners of war (Microcopy No. M598)
1864-1865
2.00 microfilm reels
 

War Dept. Adjutant General's Office

F 602713 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
War Dept. collection of post-Revolutionary War manuscripts (Microcopy No. M904)
1784-1851; (bulk 1784-1811)
4.00 microfilm reels

F 602740 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
The Negro in the military service of the United States (Microcopy No. M858)
1639-1886
5.00 microfilm reels

F 602746 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
Letters received by the office of the Adjutant General (main series), 1861-1870 (Microcopy No. M619)
1866
1.00 microfilm reel

F 602747 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
Letters received by the office of the Adjutant General (main series), 1871-1880 (Microcopy No. M666)
1871-1875
7.00 microfilm reels

F 602782 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
Lists of carded records of military organizations, War of 1812 and Indian Wars Microcopy No. T817)
ca. 1800-1855
2.00 microfilm reels

F 602783 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
Returns from U.S. military posts, 1800-1916 (Microcopy No. M617)
1800-1916
47.00 microfilm reels

F 602789 United States. War Dept. Adjutant General's Office.
Compiled military service records of volunteer Union soldiers who served with the United States Colored Troops (Microcopy No. M1819)
1862-1867
19.00 microfilm reels


Guide to Federal Records || Research || Research Questions