SC Archives Summary GuideSouth Carolina Archives Summary Guide

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

(RG: 165000)

 

 

 

 

 

S 165001 General Assembly.
Acts, bills, and joint resolutions
1691-2013
910.91 cubic ft., 2.00 microfilm reels, and 2.00 volumes

On-Line Records Index

S 165002 General Assembly.
Annual reports of the Comptroller General
1800-1872
25.74 cubic ft.

S 165003 General Assembly.
Printed material gathered to be microfilmed
1791-2008
95.00 cubic ft.

S 165004 General Assembly.
Codes and session laws
1719-2008
424.00 volumes and 119.00 microfilm reels

S 165005 General Assembly.
Committee reports
1776-1879; (bulk 1782-1866)
44.83 cubic ft.
On-Line Records Index

S 165006 General Assembly.
Communications with other states
1804-1830
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165008 General Assembly.
Miscellaneous publications of the General Assembly
1853
2.00 volumes

S 165009 General Assembly.
Governors' messages
1783-1877
21.83 cubic ft., 9.00 microfilm reels, and 1.00 folder
On-Line Records Index

S 165010 General Assembly.
Grand jury presentments
1783-1877
4.30 cubic ft.
On-Line Records Index

S 165011 General Assembly.
Free school reports
1812-1866
21.87 cubic ft.

S 165012 General Assembly.
Annual reports of the Bank of the State of South Carolina
1831-1864
1.98 cubic ft.

S 165013 General Assembly.
Miscellaneous papers
1778-1972
95.21 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165014 General Assembly.
Motions, orders, protests, nominations, and extract of journals
1793-1820
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165015 General Assembly.
Petitions to the General Assembly
1776-1883; (bulk 1782-1866)
66.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container) and 109.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

S 165016 General Assembly.
Private reports of the Bank of the State of South Carolina
1834-1859
1.32 cubic ft

S 165017 General Assembly.
Reports and resolutions (printed)
1784-1994
351.00 volumes, 12.86 cubic ft., 189.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reels)

S 165018 General Assembly.
Resolutions of the General Assembly
1779-1879; (bulk 1782-1865)
7.86 cubic ft. (includes partial container)
On-Line Records Index

S 165019 General Assembly.
Richland District grand jury findings
1800-1835
1.00 volume

S 165020 General Assembly.
Report of the commencement and progress of the agricultural survey of the state of South Carolina
1843
2.00 volumes

S 165022 General Assembly.
Writs of election
1836-1854
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165023 General Assembly.
Miscellaneous accounts
1776-1849
8.25 cubic ft.

S 165024 General Assembly.
Election certificates for district offices
1831-1865
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165025 General Assembly.
Notices of legislative intent
1791-1862
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165026 General Assembly.
Annual reports of the Regents of the Lunatic Asylum
1835-1865
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165027 General Assembly.
Bills
1782-1830
2.97 cubic ft.

S 165028 General Assembly.
Unmatched covers to legislative papers
1794-1865
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165029 General Assembly.
Miscellaneous communications to the General Assembly
1776-1877; (bulk 1783-1865)
11.00 cubic ft.
On-Line Records Index  

S 165031 General Assembly.
Report of the Commissioners on the Revision and Consolidation of the Statute Laws of the State
1871
2.00 volumes

S 165053 General Assembly.
Papers relating to the Luxembourg claims
ca. 1789-1862
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165056 General Assembly.
Drafts of bills, committee reports, and other unarranged papers
ca. 1858-1884
24.33 cubic ft.

S 165058 General Assembly.
Attested copies of federal statutes
1791
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165073 General Assembly.
Exhibits furnished by the Railroad Commission of payments made to legislators and state employees by railroads and parties interested in the Santee-Cooper Project
1934
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165076 General Assembly.
Salary accounts for clerks, porters, messengers, pages, doorkeepers, janitors, and other employees
1870-1876
1.00 volume

S 165086 General Assembly.
Petition against a tax on liquor, beer, and wine
ca. 1875-1880
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165088 General Assembly.
Index to 1782-1789 loose legislative papers
1850
1.00 volume

S 165106 General Assembly.
Digest of the road law of the state of South Carolina
1852
1.00 volume

S 165249 General Assembly.
Subject-filed loose papers ("Green files")
ca. 1800-1896
51.00 cubic ft.

S 165254 General Assembly.
Annual reports of the Commissioners of the New State House
1855-1864
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165274 General Assembly.
Bills and joint resolutions
1830-1908
30.36 cubic ft.

S 165275 General Assembly.
Payrolls of the Lunatic Asylum
1878-1905
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165279 General Assembly.
Revolutionary War annuitant and bounty land reports
1778-1803
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165339 General Assembly.
Websites of the General Assembly
2006-2018
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

S 165344 General Assembly.
Photograph of members of the Engrossing Dept.
ca. 1910
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Committee of Both Houses to Enquire into the Late Expedition Against St. Augustine

S 165278 General Assembly. Committee of Both Houses to Enquire into the Late Expedition against St. Augustine.
Report of the Committee of Both Houses to Enquire into the Late Expedition Against St. Augustine
1743
2.00 microfilm reels
 

Committee of Conference upon Indian Affairs

S 165228 General Assembly. Committee of Conference upon Indian Affairs.
Committee report
1751
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Committee to Correspond with the Agent in Great Britain

S 165033 General Assembly. Committee to Correspond with the Agent in Great Britain.
Letterbook of Charles Garth
1766-1775
1.00 volume and 2.00 microfilm reels

S 165069 General Assembly. Committee to Correspond with the Agent in Great Britain.
Letter from South Carolina Agent Charles Garth
1764
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Council of Safety

S 165118 Council of Safety.
Papers
1775-1776
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165277 Council of Safety.
Minutes of the Council of Safety
1776
1.00 microfilm reel
 

Free Conference Committee Concerned with Petitions for Relief from the Confiscation Act of 1782

S 165035 General Assembly. Free Conference Committee Concerned with Petitions for Relief from the Confiscation Act of 1782.
Minutes, testimony, and notes on persons seeking relief from confiscation or desiring to become citizens
1783-1784
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Joint Committee on Contingent Accounts

S 165077 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Contingent Accounts.
Reports on the contingent accounts of the Upper and Lower Divisions
1832-1862
12.00 volumes
 

Joint Committee of Investigation of the Third Congressional District Election

S 165095 General Assembly. Joint Committee of Investigation of the Third Congressional District Election.
Evidence taken by the Committee on the Third Congressional District Election (1869)
1870
1.00 volume
 

Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds

S 165036 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Letters sent
1878
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165037 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Letters received
1877-1878
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165038 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Diary of Josephus Woodruff (excerpts)
1873-1876
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165039 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Report of the special committee appointed to investigate the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds
1878
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165040 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Reports of the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds
1877-1878
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165041 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Reports of the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds (printed)
1877-1878
10.00 volumes

S 165042 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Cashbook of the Republican Printing Company
1872-1875
1.00 volume

S 165043 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
South Carolina Bank and Trust Company files
1868-1876
1.98 cubic ft. and 33.00 volumes

S 165044 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Account book of the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds
1870-1874
1.00 volume

S 165045 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Summonses
1877-1878
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165046 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Testimonies and evidence of the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds
1877-1878
0.66 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165047 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Cashbook of the Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds
1870-1871
1.00 volume

S 165048 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Diary of Josephus Woodruff
1873-1876
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165338 General Assembly. Joint Investigating Committee on Public Frauds.
Account of C.J. Stolbrand with Hardy Solomon
1870-1873
0.00 cubic ft.
  (partial container)

 

Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the State

S 165276 General Assembly. Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the
State.
Report of the Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the State
1877
1.00 microfilm reel

S 165308 General Assembly. Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the
State.
Journals of consolidation bonds produced before the commission
1877
4.00 volumes

S 165309 General Assembly. Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the
State.
Journals of certificates of stocks produced before the commission
1877
2.00 volumes

S 165310 General Assembly. Commission to Investigate the Indebtedness of the
State.
Printed schedules showing numbers and denominations of bonds and stock examined by the commission
ca. 1877-1878
0.00 volume (partial container)
 

Joint Committee on Printing

S 165272 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Printing.
Ledgers of the Joint Committee on Printing
1918-1926
8.00 volumes
 

Joint Committee to Investigate Law Enforcement

S 165317 General Assembly. Joint Committee to Investigate Law Enforcement.
Report of the Joint Committee to Investigate Law Enforcement
1938
1.00 volume
 

Committee to Investigate the Pulp and Paper Industry in South Carolina

S 165251 General Assembly. Committee to Investigate the Pulp and Paper Industry in South Carolina.
Minutes, testimony, and exhibits of the Committee to Investigate the Pulp and Paper Industry in South Carolina
1941-1943
2.00 volumes

S 165252 General Assembly. Committee to Investigate the Pulp and Paper Industry in South Carolina.
Central files
1941-1943
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Committee to Study the Harvesting of Timber at Santee Cooper

S 165034 General Assembly. Committee to Study the Harvesting of Timber at Santee Cooper.
Minutes, reports, reference files, and other records of the Committee to Study the Harvesting of Timber at Santee Cooper
1971-1976
1.33 cubic ft.
 

Committee to Study the Problems Relating to the Regulation of Drilling, Exploration, Production, and Processing of Oil and Gas

S 165052 General Assembly. Committee to Study the Problems Relating to the Regulation of Drilling, Exploration, Production, and Processing of Oil and Gas.
Papers
1974-1976
1.16 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)
 

Workers' Compensation Study Committee

S 165059 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Appointments
1974-1981
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165060 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
General correspondence
1977-1981
0.00 cubic ft. (partial containeer)

S 165061 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Financial files
1977-1985
0.33 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)

S 165062 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Central files
1976-1992
1.16 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165063 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Legislative fiscal impact statements
1982-1984
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165064 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Litigation case files
1979-1986
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165065 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Occupational disease files
1981-1984
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165066 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Public hearing files
1977-1980
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165067 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Public relations files
1976-1978
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165068 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Speech file
1979-1981
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165255 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Annual reports of the Workers' Compensation Study Committee
1970-1992
0.16 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165256 General Assembly. Workers' Compensation Study Committee.
Minutes of the Workers' Compensation Study Committee
1977-1992
0.43 cubic ft.
(24-hour notice required to access audiotapes)
 

Free Conference Committee on Home Rule

S 165057 General Assembly. Free Conference Committee on Home Rule.
Reports of the Free Conference Committee on Home Rule
1975
0.10 cubic ft. and 4239.36 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive
 

Committee to Investigate and Study Interest Rates

S 165054 General Assembly. Committee to Investigate and Study Interest Rates.
Papers
1975-1976
0.66 cubic ft.
 

Committee to Investigate Electric Power Rates and the Structure of the Public Service Commission of this State

S 165055 General Assembly. Committee to Investigate Electric Power Rates and the Structure of the Public Service Commission of this State.
Papers
1974-1978
0.33 cubic ft. (includes partial container)
 

Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees

S 165049 General Assembly. Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees.
Minutes of the Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees
1975
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165050 General Assembly. Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees.
Reports of the Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees
1975-1976
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165051 General Assembly. Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees.
Correspondence of the Committee to Review the Need for Study Committees
1975
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Joint Appropriations Review Committee

S 165030 General Assembly. Joint Appropriations Review Committee.
Minutes and meeting files of the Joint Appropriations Review Committee
1979-1996
12.30 cubic ft.

S 165032 General Assembly. Joint Appropriations Review Committee.
Central files
1978-1996
2.00 cubic ft.
 

Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and Oversight

S 165311 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
Minutes and meeting files of meetings and public hearings of the Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and Oversight
1979-1995
2.00 volumes and 1.33 cubic ft.
(24-hour notice required to access audiotapes)

S 165312 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
General correspondence
1987-1995
2.33 cubic ft.

S 165313 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
Subject and project files
ca. 1988-1994
3.00 cubic ft.

S 165314 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
Files, audiotapes, and report of the Blue Ribbon Task Force to Study Health Care Costs
1989-1990
0.33 cubic ft. (includes partial container)
(24-hour notice required to access audiotapes)

S 165315 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
Senator Hugh K. Leatherman's speeches
1989-1991
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165316 General Assembly. Joint Committee on Health Care Planning and
Oversight.
Administrative files
ca. 1989-1995
0.33 cubic ft.

 

Joint Bond Review Committee

 

S 165337 General Assembly. Joint Bond Review Committee
Minutes and meeting files of the Joint Bond Review Committee
1981-2007
9.00 cubic ft. and 2130.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive
 

State House Committee

S 165304 General Assembly. State House Committee.
Invitations and programs for the reopening of the renovated State House
1998
0.16 cubic ft.
 

House of Representatives

S 165071 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Appointments by the Governor
1963-1970
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165072 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1933-2012; (bulk 1933-1994)
84.09 cubic ft.

S 165074 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Calendars of the House of Representatives
1885-1966
134.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

S 165075 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Committee assignment books
1782-1830
3.00 volumes

S 165079 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Election returns
1782-1866
4.62 cubic ft.

S 165080 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Floor debates
1975
0.05 cubic ft.
(The repository has no equipment to listen to or copy dictabelts found in the series)

S 165081 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Governors' messages
1978-1983
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165082 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Guest registers of the House of Representatives
1959-1990
14.00 volumes

S 165083 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Designations of interim successors to representatives in the event of enemy attack
1962
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165084 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
New member orientation files
1973-1984
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165085 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Journals of the House of Representatives (engrossed manuscripts)
1779-1889
103.00 volumes

S 165087 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Journals of the House of Representatives
1831-2020
4.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reels) and 329.00 volumes (includes partial volumes)

S 165090 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Journals of the House of Representatives (rough manuscripts)
1779-1856
3.30 cubic ft. and 23.00 volumes

S 165094 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Letters received
1978
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165096 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Messages from the Senate
1859-1878
0.99 cubic ft.

S 165097 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Oaths of members
1911-1935
1.00 volume

S 165100 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Photographs of House members
ca. 1860-1964
3.30 cubic ft., 11.00 folders, and 2.00 items

S 165101 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Receipts for acts transferred
1872-1889
8.00 volumes

S 165102 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Reports of the judicial and other screening committees
1987-1988
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165103 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Register of bills introduced in the House of Representatives
1969-1970
1.00 volume

S 165105 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Budget reports
1927-1963
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165108 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Rules
1847-1973
9.00 volumes

S 165258 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Transcripts and dictabelts of proceedings and debate on reapportionment
1973
1.00 cubic ft.
(The repository has no equipment to listen to or copy dictabelts found in the series)

S 165259 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Audiotapes of proceedings and debates on reapportionment
1981-1984
1.81 cubic ft.

S 165260 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Legislative update
1996-2001
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165269 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Printed committee reports
1866-1884
2.00 volumes

S 165271 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Report of the South Carolina Power Rate Investigating Committee
1983
1.00 volume

S 165318 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Attorney General's rulings file
1957-1986
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165320 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Election appeals
1980-1993
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165340 General Assembly. House of Representatives.
Websites of the House of Representatives
2008-2009
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives
 

House of Representatives. Committee on Claims

S 165123 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Claims.
Invoice book and ledger of Alexander Gillon
1766-1784
1.00 volume

S 165270 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Claims.
Ledger of the Committee on Claims
1869-1874
1.00 volume
 

House of Representatives. Committee on the Petitions of Sundry Persons Praying to Become a Citizen

S 165253 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on the Petitions of Sundry Persons Praying to Become a Citizen.
Testimony and notes on cases of persons praying to become citizens of this state
1783
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

House of Representatives. Committee to Impeach Alexander Moultrie

S 165205 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee to Impeach Alexander Moultrie.
Papers
1792-1793
0.33 cubic ft.
 

House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk

S 165007 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Bound copies of appropriation bills
1958-1968
10.00 volumes

S 165021 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Governors' inauguration files
1951-1999
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165078 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Congressional correspondence
1951-1966
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165091 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Legislative manuals
1860-2021 (bulk 1917-2021)
2.31 cubic ft.

S 165098 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Miscellaneous files
ca. 1935-1988
16.49 cubic ft.

S 165099 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Printed copies of individual acts and a compilation of insurance law
1935-1948
2.00 cubic ft.

S 165107 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Legislative pocket guides
1949-1981
0.05 cubic ft.

S 165120 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Financial records of the House of Representatives
1934-1971
15.00 cubic ft.

S 165121 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
State House and Governor's Mansion renovation and expansion files
1931-1987
0.66 cubic ft. and 1.00 folder

S 165122 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
General correspondence
ca. 1945-1957
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165139 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Reports of state agencies, commissions, and committees filed with the clerk
1911-1999
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165140 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Reports of special legislative committees filed with the clerk
1920-1999 (bulk 1920-1971)
0.49 cubic ft.

S 165141 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Miscellaneous reports and publications
1932-1991
0.49 cubic ft.

S 165142 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Reports of expenditures from approved accounts
1934-1970
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165143 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Addresses and miscellaneous event programs
1934-1968
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165145 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Page manual
n.d.
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165146 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Manuscript committee reports filed with the clerk
1964-1971
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165319 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Biennial sessions reference file
1941-1964
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165321 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Cost of legislative sessions file
1935-1966
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165322 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
Photographs of House clerks
ca. 1930-1950
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165335 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Clerk.
State song file
1909-2006
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container) and 32.74 MBs
 

House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker

S 165070 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Priority issues survey files
1986-1992
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165089 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Central files
1971-1994
8.00 cubic ft.

S 165093 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Legislative updates and research reports
1987-1988
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165109 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
State Auditor's files
1978-1983
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165110 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Post session reports
1975-2000
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165111 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
House approved accounts
1980-1985
1.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165112 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
General correspondence
1979-1986
2.00 cubic ft.

S 165113 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Speech file
1980-1986
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165114 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
General subject file
1973-1986
3.00 cubic ft.

S 165116 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Address by the Honorable Soloman Blatt...Speaker...upon his resignation
1973
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165119 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Papers
1973-1981
5.00 cubic ft.

S 165257 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Pre-session report
1975
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165307 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Swearing-in ceremonies file
1973-1986
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165323 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Office of the Speaker.
Precedents of the Speaker's rulings
1972-1974
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

House of Representatives. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee

S 165261 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee
1981-2018
8.26 cubic ft..
(24 hour notice required to access tapes of meetings after 1993)

S 165263 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
Central files
ca. 1983-2019
4.00 cubic ft. and 29.93 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 165264 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
Bill files
1975-2020
10.33 cubic ft.

S 165348 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
General correspondence
2013-2019
0.66 cubic ft.
 
 

House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works

S 165126 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1967-2014
47.75 cubic ft.

S 165127 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
Central files of the Committee on Education and Public Works
1953-2014
15.65 cubic ft.

S 165128 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
Rules and regulations filed with the Committee on Education and Public Works
1987-2014
7.00 cubic ft.

S 165129 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
General correspondence
1960-2008
1.33 cubic ft.

S 165130 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
Minutes of the Committee on Education and Public Works
1966-20104
5.05 cubic ft.
(24 hour notice required to access tapes)

S 165132 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Education and Public Works.
Bill status index
1967-2000
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

House of Representatives. Committee on Structure and Authority of State Government

S 165336 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Structure and Authority of State Government.
Manual on structure and authority of state government
1978-1979
1.00 volume
 

House of Representatives. Ethics Committee

S 165133 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ethics Committee.
Ethics Committee House campaign and economic interest disclosure forms
1971-1985
7.33 cubic ft.

S 165134 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ethics Committee.
Lobbyists registrations and end-of term reports
1991
2.00 cubic ft.

S 165131 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ethics Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the Ethics Committee
1975-2007
1.00 cubic ft.
(24 hour notice required to access tapes)
 

House of Representatives. Invitations and Memorial Resolutions Committee

S 165144 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Invitations and Memorial Resolutions Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions (unpassed)
2009-2010
0.16 cubic ft.

 

House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee

S 165104 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the House Judiciary Committee
1980...2014
0.66 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165135 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Bill status index
1977-2002
3.39 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 165138 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1965-2020
92.29 cubic ft.

S 165150 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the Judiciary Committee
1903-2006; (bulk 1968-2006)
27.33 cubic ft., 1.00 volume, and 2.00 items
(Portions restricted; 24-hour notice required to access some audiotapes) 

S 165151 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Journals of bills and resolutions
1878-1994
22.00 volumes

S 165152 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Central files
1965-2006
140.14 cubic ft. and 5.00 volumes

S 165153 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Hearings and exhibits on the impeachment of Marshall C. Sanford, Jr.
2009-2010
0.49 cubic ft. and 45991.47 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 165154 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Receipts for bills
1976-1982
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165155 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Receipts for committee reports
1968-1977
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165303 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Statewide appointments considered by the House Judiciary Committee
1995
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165342 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Judiciary Committee.
Websites of the House Judiciary Committee redistricting
2001-2011
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

 

House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry

S 165165 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1966-2020
20.31 cubic ft.

S 165176 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Central files
1965-2004
28.82 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)

S 165178 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Receipts for Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee reports
1968-2015
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165181 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Statewide appointments
1977-1981
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165182 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Stenographers' notebooks
ca. 1974-1980
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165186 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Rules and regulations filed with the House Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry
1980-2014
3.00 cubic ft.

S 165188 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Minutes and public hearings of the Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry
1967-2020
20.30 cubic ft.

S 165189 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Journals of bills and resolutions
1981-1982
1.00 volume

S 165191 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Committee on Labor, Commerce and Industry.
Bill status index
1967-1980; (bulk 1967-1974)
0.43 cubic ft.
 

House of Representatives. Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee

S 165092 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee.
Central files
1985-2014
26.48 cubic ft.

S 165194 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1977...2014
2.16 cubic ft.

S 165195 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee
1980-2014
24.27 cubic ft., 3704.28 MBs and 3 CD-ROMs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 165324 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Medical, Military, Public and Municipal Affairs Committee
1985-2014
6.00 cubic ft.

 

House of Representatives. Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee

S 165345 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee.
Rules and regulations of the Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee
2015-2018
1.16 cubic ft.

S 165346 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
2015-2018
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165347 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee.
Meetings and public hearings of the Regulations and Administrative Procedures Committee
2015-2018
0.16 cubic ft.

 

House of Representatives. Rules Committee

S 165136 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Rules Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1977-2006
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165137 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Rules Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the Rules Committee
1974-2007
0.66 cubic ft.
(24 hour notice required to access tapes)
 

House of Representatives. State Park (Desegregation) Study Committee

S 165250 General Assembly. House of Representatives. State Park (Desegregation) Study Committee.
Petitions to close parks, questionnaires, surveys, and reference files
1963
0.33 cubic ft.
 

House of Representatives. Ways and Means Committee

S 165196 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means 
Committee.
Agency budget and proviso requests
1997-2001
3.00 cubic ft.

S 165197 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means 
Committee.
Post session reports of the Ways and Means Committee
1991-2000
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165198 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Papers
1969
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165199 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Register of bills introduced in the House Ways and Means Committee
1872-1876
1.00 volume

S 165200 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1972-2020
26.33 cubic ft.

S 165201 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Minutes and public hearings of the Ways and Means Committee
1974-2002
10.00 cubic ft.
(24-hour notice required to access some audiotapes)

S 165202 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Amendments to bills
1996-2002
4.00 cubic ft. 

S 165204 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the House Ways and Means Committee
1988-2009 (bulk 1992-2009)
0.49 cubic ft.

S 165217 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Budget conference committee material
1999-2002
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165218 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Budget master notebooks
1999-2002
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165219 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee.
Budget briefing and recommendation reports
1991-1999
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

House of Representatives. Ways and Means Committee. Tobacco Settlement Funds Study Committee

S 165203 General Assembly. House of Representatives. Ways and Means
Committee. Tobacco Settlement Funds Study Committee.
Tobacco Settlement Funds Study Committee files
1999-2000
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Senate

S 165206 General Assembly. Senate.
Messages from the House to the Senate
1811-1877
2.31 cubic ft.

S 165207 General Assembly. Senate.
Election returns
1782-1866
3.30 cubic ft.

S 165208 General Assembly. Senate.
Journals (engrossed manuscripts)
1782-1877
85.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 165209 General Assembly. Senate.
Journals of the Senate
1831-2020
5.00 microfilm reels and 291.00 volumes

S 165210 General Assembly. Senate.
Journals of the Senate (rough manuscripts)
1782-1837
25.00 volumes and 1.00 cubic ft.

S 165211 General Assembly. Senate.
Calendars of the Senate
1871-1966
102.00 volumes

S 165212 General Assembly. Senate.
Committee assignment books
1782-1830
3.00 volumes

S 165213 General Assembly. Senate.
Ceremonies attending the unveiling of the portraits of E. A. Brown and R. M. Jefferies
1958
1.00 volume

S 165214 General Assembly. Senate.
Rules of the Senate
1885, 2005
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165215 General Assembly. Senate.
Receipts for acts transferred
1872-1887
5.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

S 165216 General Assembly. Senate.
Correspondence and assorted papers
1866-1877
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165219 General Assembly. Senate.
Pay stubs on orders for State Treasurer
1869-1871
1.00 volume

S 165267 General Assembly. Senate.
Bills
1907
1.00 volume

S 165273 General Assembly. Senate.
Unpassed bills
1969-1972
2.00 cubic ft.

S 165280 General Assembly. Senate.
1980 reapportionment files
1971-1986
59.00 cubic ft.

S 165297 General Assembly. Senate.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in the Senate
1995-2004
7.33 cubic ft.

S 165330 General Assembly. Senate.
Register of bills introduced in the Senate
1965-1996
15.00 volumes

 

S 165341 General Assembly. Senate.
Websites of the Senate
2008-present
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives
 

Senate. Clerk

S 165265 General Assembly. Senate. Clerk.
Voucher stubs
1873-1876
1.00 volume

S 165266 General Assembly. Senate. Clerk.
Receipts for bills
1882-1883
1.00 volume

S 165268 General Assembly. Senate. Clerk.
Shorthand notes
ca. 1874-1877
3.00 volumes

S 165305 General Assembly. Senate. Clerk.
Receipts for ratified bills and joint resolutions sent to the Governor
1979-1988
5.00 volumes

S 165306 General Assembly. Senate. Clerk.
Former members' files
1975-1995
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Senate. General Committee

S 165298 General Assembly. Senate. General Committee.
Central files
1985-1994
4.00 cubic ft.

S 165299 General Assembly. Senate. General Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions
1976-2004
3.33 cubic ft.

S 165300 General Assembly. Senate. General Committee.
Statewide appointments considered by the General Committee
1994-1995
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
(Restricted)

S 165301 General Assembly. Senate. General Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the General Committee
1994-2003
0.16 cubic ft.

S 165302 General Assembly. Senate. General Committee.
Audiotapes of committee and subcommittee meetings
1991-1994
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Office of the Chaplain

S 165223 General Assembly. Senate. Office of the Chaplain.
Prayers of the Chaplain of the Senate
1965
1.00 volume
 

Senate. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee

S 165287 General Assembly. Senate. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1993-2004
1.00 cubic ft.

S 165288 General Assembly. Senate. Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee
1996
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Senate. Banking and Insurance Committee

S 165293 General Assembly. Senate. Banking and Insurance Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1983-2004
5.00 cubic ft.

S 165325 General Assembly. Senate. Banking and Insurance Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Banking and Insurance Committee
1981-2004
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165333 General Assembly. Senate. Banking and Insurance Committee.
Audiotapes of committee and subcommittee meetings and public hearings
1978-1988
0.66 cubic ft.
(24-hour notice required to access audiotapes)

 

Senate. Corrections and Penology Committee

S 165286 General Assembly. Senate. Corrections and Penology Committee.
Bills and joint resolutions that died in committee
1993-2002
0.46 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Education Committee

S 165295 General Assembly. Senate. Education Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1989-2004
4.00 cubic ft.

S 165296 General Assembly. Senate. Education Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Senate Education Committee
1994-2004
0.46 cubic ft.

 

Senate. Ethics Committee

S 165329 General Assembly. Senate. Ethics Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1977-1992
0.33 cubic ft.

 

Senate. Finance Committee

S 165281 General Assembly. Senate. Finance Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1989-2004
10.46 cubic ft.

S 165282 General Assembly. Senate. Finance Committee.
Statewide appointments considered by the Senate Finance Committee
1995-1996
0.16 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)

S 165283 General Assembly. Senate. Finance Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Senate Finance Committee
1995-2004
0.33 cubic ft. (includes partial container)
 

Senate. Fish, Game and Forestry Committee

S 165289 General Assembly. Senate. Fish, Game and Forestry Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1987-2004
1.66 cubic ft.

S 165290 General Assembly. Senate. Fish, Game and Forestry Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Fish, Game and Forestry Committee
1996-2004
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Senate. Invitations Committee

S 165285 General Assembly. Senate. Invitations Committee.
Resolutions left in committee
1993-2004
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Judiciary Committee

S 165220 General Assembly. Senate. Judiciary Committee.
Minutes of the Senate Judiciary Committee
1903-1905
1.00 volume

S 165284 General Assembly. Senate. Judiciary Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1979-2004
16.49 cubic ft.

S 165343 General Assembly. Senate. Judiciary Committee.
Websites of the Senate Judiciary Committee redistricting
2001-2011
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives
 

Senate. Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee

S 165294 General Assembly. Senate. Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1993-2004
1.66 cubic ft.

S 165327 General Assembly. Senate. Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Labor, Commerce, and Industry Committee
1998-2003
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165331 General Assembly. Senate. Labor, Commerce and Industry Committee.
Central files
1987-1992
7.66 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Medical Affairs Committee

S 165291 General Assembly. Senate. Medical Affairs Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1993-2004
2.00 cubic ft.

S 165328 General Assembly. Senate. Medical Affairs Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Medical Affairs Committee
2001-2002
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165332 General Assembly. Senate. Medical Affairs Committee.
Rules and regulations files
1990-1994
1.46 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Committee on Rules

S 165221 General Assembly. Senate. Committee on Rules.
Allendale County election dispute files
1962-1963
0.66 cubic ft.
 

Senate. Transportation Committee

S 165292 General Assembly. Senate. Transportation Committee.
Bills, joint resolutions, concurrent resolutions, and resolutions that died in committee
1993-2004
3.00 cubic ft.

S 165326 General Assembly. Senate. Transportation Committee.
Rules and regulations filed with the Transportation Committee
2000-2004
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Commons House

S 165125 General Assembly. Commons House.
Sessional papers
1718-1725
0.33 cubic ft. and 2634.76 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 165224 General Assembly. Commons House.
Accounts
1740-1775
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165225 General Assembly. Commons House.
Receipts for certificates issued to the creditors of the public
1774-1775
1.00 volume

S 165226 General Assembly. Commons House.
Journals of the Commons House
1692-1775
0.66 cubic ft., 7.00 microfilm reels, and 79.00 volumes

S 165227 General Assembly. Commons House.
Committee reports
1737-1756
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container) and 1.00 microfilm reel

S 165230 General Assembly. Commons House.
Accounts of certificates issued to the creditors of the public
1774-1775
1.00 volume

S 165231 General Assembly. Commons House.
Petitions to the Commons House of Assembly
1742-1770
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165232 General Assembly. Commons House.
Education bill
1770
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165233 General Assembly. Commons House.
Account of ordnance and military stores
1742
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Commons House. Committee to Audit the Public Accounts

S 165229 General Assembly. Commons House. Committee to Audit the Public Accounts.
Muster rolls, pay lists, and accounts for the Cherokee Expedition
1759-1760
0.66 cubic ft. and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

House of General Assembly

S 165241 General Assembly. House of General Assembly.
Ordinance to appoint commissioners to take a state of the treasury and to settle the accounts of the late Powder Receiver
1776
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165243 General Assembly. House of General Assembly.
Message from the Legislative Council
1776
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165245 General Assembly. House of General Assembly.
Journal of the General Assembly
1776
1.00 volume
 

Provincial Congress

S 165117 Provincial Congress.
Election return
1776
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 165244 Provincial Congress.
Extracts from the journals of the Provincial Congress
1775-1776
0.66 cubic ft.

S 165248 Provincial Congress.
Extracts of intercepted letters
1775-1776
0.33 cubic ft.

S 165334 Provincial Congress.
Records of the Provincial Congress
1774-1776
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
 

Upper House of Assembly

S 165246 General Assembly. Upper House of Assembly.
Journals of the Upper House of Assembly
1721-1768
14.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 5.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 165247 General Assembly. Upper House of Assembly.
Rough journals of the Upper House of Assembly
1730
0.66 cubic ft.

 

 


SCDAH Website  ||  Summary Guide  ||  SCArchCat  ||  Online Records Index  ||  SC Electronic Records Archive  || Research Questions


For information on our search room services, please contact our research desk at 803-896-6104 or submit a
research request.

Please include your complete postal address in your electronic correspondence to us.