SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

MILITARY DEPARTMENT

(RG: 192000)

 

 

 

Adjutant and Inspector General

S 192001 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Administrative reference files
1911-1993
4.33 cubic ft.

S 192002 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Letterbooks of J. C. Boyd
1902-1907
4.00 volumes

S 192003 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Circular letters and bulletins of militia notes
1911-1921
1.32 cubic ft.

S 192004 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Cashbooks of the Adjutant and Inspector General
1911-1922
5.00 volumes

S 192005 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Casualty list for South Carolina troops in the American Expeditionary Force
1918
0.35 cubic ft.

S 192006 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Checkbooks
1915-1920
2.00 volumes

S 192007 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Letterbooks
1869-1898
13.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

S 192008 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Letterbooks
1862
6.00 volumes

S 192009 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Correspondence with U.S. military personnel
1905-1914
6.00 volumes and 0.33 cubic ft.

S 192010 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Duty rosters
1904-1911
12.00 volumes

S 192011 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Letters and circulars concerning naval militia
1914-1915
2.00 volumes

S 192012 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Encampment cost ledgers
1922-1924
2.00 volumes

S 192013 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Encampment site photograph (Camp Chickamauga, Ga.)
1906
1.00 item

S 192014 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Fort Jackson construction record
1917-1941
1.00 volume

S 192015 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Inspection reports of state troops
1883-1896
3.00 volumes

S 192016 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Inventories of state property issued to military units
1877-1928
18.00 volumes (includes partial volume)

S 192017 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Journal of the volunteer company from Columbia in the Second Seminole War
1836
1.00 volume

S 192018 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
List of commissions issued
1870-1892
5.00 volumes

S 192019 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
List of draft substitutes
1862
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 192020 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
List of uniforms issued
ca. 1906-1911
9.00 volumes

S 192021 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Militia enrollments
1869
27.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 192022 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Morning reports
1903-1913
14.00 volumes

S 192023 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Abstracts of troop strength
ca. 1861
1.00 volume

S 192024 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Consolidated morning reports
1903
1.00 volume

S 192025 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Muster rolls and enlistment records
1907-1922
5.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 192026 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Orders books
1860-1865
3.00 volumes

S 192027 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Overseers exempted from the draft
1862-1864
2.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel

S 192028 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Personnel records (Spanish-American War)
1898-1899
0.50 cubic ft.

S 192029 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Receipts for public arms issued to the Spartanburg Militia
1841
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192030 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Receipts for contingent warrants
1911-1920
10.00 volumes

S 192031 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Requisitions for equipment
1890-1940
2.00 volumes

S 192032 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Roll of National Guard officers (Act of 1905)
1905-1921
1.00 volume

S 192033 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Company sick reports
1904-1913
10.00 volumes

S 192034 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Summary court calendar
1903
0.00 volume (partial volume)

S 192051 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Naval militia account book
1913-1914
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192055 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Muster rolls of the Punitive Expedition into Mexico
1916-1917
3.00 cubic ft.

S 192057 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Muster rolls of the Spanish-American War
1898-1899
2.00 cubic ft.

S 192070 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
War of 1812 muster rolls and payrolls
1812-1814
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192071 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
War of 1812 accounts
1814-1815
0.82 cubic ft.

S 192072 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Muster rolls of the Palmetto Regiment
1847-1848
0.75 cubic ft.

S 192078 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Letterbooks (Confederate Rolls)
1882-1887
5.00 volumes

S 192079 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
State arms and ordnance conversion papers
1869-1870
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192080 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
State summary of war casualties
1946
1.00 volume

S 192081 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Korean War casualty file
1950-1953
1.00 volume

S 192082 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Petitions for officer commissions (6th Regiment, S.C. Reserves)
1863
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192083 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Petitions for exemptions from military service
1864-1865
1.00 cubic ft.

S 192084 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Orders
1869-1991
15.00 volumes and 7.00 cubic ft.

S 192085 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Register of endorsements (replies) to letters sent to the Adjutant General
1869-1876
0.00 volume (partial volume)

S 192089 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Annual returns and abstracts of returns from South Carolina in the records of the National Guard Bureau at the National Archives
1814-1836
1.32 cubic ft.

S 192090 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
World War II scrapbooks
1941-1945
4.66 cubic ft. 

S 192091 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
State duty files
1984-1985
1.00 cubic ft.

(Restricted)

S 192092 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Korean War veterans' DD-214 forms
1949-1975
20.00 cubic ft.
(Restricted)

S 192094 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
List of persons exempted from state militia service
1869-1870
1.00 volume

S 192095 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Abstracts of letters received
1864-1915
7.00 volumes

S 192096 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Record books (Confederate Rolls)
1882-1886
2.00 volumes

S 192097 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Kentucky Adjutant General's report of troops, volume I
1866
1.00 volume

S 192098 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Scrapbook of newspaper clippings on national defense
1915-1916
1.00 volume

S 192099 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Paid accounts
ca. 1869-1872
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192100 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Naval militia correspondence
1908-1909
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192102 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
War mobilization file
1939-1941
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192103 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Lists of draft registrants for World War I
1917-1918
2.00 cubic ft.

S 192104 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
State request for transportation
1913-1915
1.00 volume

S 192105 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Ordnance stores inventory
1911-1913
1.00 volume

S 192106 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
General journals of the Adjutant and Inspector General
1903-1907
1.00 volume

S 192107 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Commissions book
1862
1.00 volume

S 192108 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Correspondence with the Chief of Militia Affairs, War Dept., Washington D.C.
1908-1913
3.00 volumes

S 192111 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Order book (Gist Guard)
1864-1865
1.00 volume

S 192113 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Morning report book (Company C, 1st (Butler's) S.C. Infantry)
1862-1864
1.00 volume
(Restricted due to physical condition)

S 192114 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Order and letterbook (2nd N. C. Hospital)
1863-1865
1.00 volume

S 192115 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Patient and accounting records of the Wayside/1st Louisiana Hospital
1862-1865
11.00 volumes

S 192116 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Regimental payroll book (17th S.C. Militia)
1861-1862
1.00 volume

S 192117 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Scrapbook of general orders
1862-1865
1.00 volume

S 192119 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Hampton County State Guard enlistment, attendance, and duty records
1940-1947
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192121 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Roster and order books of the 14th South Carolina Volunteers
1861-1864
2.00 volumes

S 192122 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
History of the Charleston Zouave cadets, 1860-1862
1904
1.00 volume
(
Restricted due to physical condition)

S 192123 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Register of burials
1862-1872
1.00 volume

S 192124 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Election returns (9th S.C. Reserves)
1863
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192125 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Disbursing officer's check stubs for rifle range and practice expenses
1911-1912
1.00 volume

S 192130 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Philadelphia Centennial Exposition file
1875-1876
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192137 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Orders for the 7th Brigade South Carolina Militia
1846
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192138 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Return of the ordnance and laboratory stores of the regiment of artillery
attached to the 7th Brigade
1802
0.05 cubic ft.

S 192140 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
CD-ROMs of the Adjutant General's web site
2003
19.44 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 192141 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Annual reports of the Adjutant General
1918-1941
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192144 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Newsletter (all about us)
2006-2008
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192164 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Websites of the Adjutant General
2007-2018
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

S 192167 Military Dept. Adjutant and Inspector General.
Map of Fort Jackson
1923
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Military Personnel Section

S 192035 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Applications for World War I victory medals
1920-1926
0.05 cubic ft.

S 192036 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Company files after induction of selected South Carolina National Guard units
1940-1942
3.33 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)

S 192037 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Discharges and releases
1941-1943
2.00 cubic ft.

S 192038 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Enlistment contracts (cavalry)
1916
0.25 cubic ft.

S 192039 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Enlistment contracts (coast artillery)
1916
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192040 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Enlistment contracts (infantry)
ca. 1904-1921
3.50 cubic ft.

S 192041 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Enlistment contracts (naval battalion and engineering company)
1907-1919
0.25 cubic ft.

S 192042 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Enlistment contracts (reserve militia and miscellaneous National Guard members)
1907-1918
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192043 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
History of service records for sailors serving in World War I
ca. 1917-1923
3.25 cubic ft.

S 192044 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
History of service records for African-American soldiers serving in World War I
1921
6.50 cubic ft.

S 192045 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
History of service records for Caucasian soldiers and marines serving in World War I
1921
8.00 cubic ft.

S 192046 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Individual record of foreign decorations for actions between 1909 and 1918
ca. 1921-1930
0.25 cubic ft.

S 192047 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Individual record of U. S. decorations and citations for actions between 1899 and 1918
1918-1929
0.25 cubic ft.

S 192048 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
List of the National Guard and reserve militia, ca. 1904-1919
ca. 1919
1.00 volume

S 192050 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
National Guard enlistment records
1919-1941
34.00 cubic ft.

S 192052 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Officers' oaths
1909-1927
1.00 cubic ft.

S 192053 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Officers' record cards (1878-1917)
ca. 1905-1921
0.05 cubic ft.

S 192054 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Miscellaneous papers
1912-1927
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192056 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
Report of sick and wounded
1912
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192058 Military Dept. Military Personnel Section.
State Guard enlistment records
1941-1947
19.00 cubic ft.
 

Militia 4th Brigade Board of Field Officers

S 192135 Militia. 4th Brigade. Board of Field Officers.
Land title, construction, legal, and fiscal records
1807-1879
0.49 cubic ft.
 

Quartermaster General

S 192061 Military Dept. Quartermaster General.
Accounts of the Quartermaster General
1824-1827
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192062 Military Dept. Quartermaster General.
Cashbooks of the Quartermaster General
1917-1935
4.00 volumes

S 192063 Military Dept. Quartermaster General.
Administrative reference files
1917-1928
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Board of Ordnance

S 192093 Military Dept. Board of Ordnance.
Minutes of the Board of Ordnance
1851
1.00 volume

S 192109 Military Dept. Board of Ordnance.
Letterbook of the Ordnance Bureau
1861
1.00 volume

S 192110 Military Dept. Board of Ordnance.
Account book of the Ordnance Bureau
1861-1862
1.00 volume
 

Military Board of South Carolina

S 192060 Military Dept. Military Board of South Carolina.
Minutes of the Military Board
1907-1914
1.00 volume (includes partial volume)
 

Ancillary Organizations

S 192059 Military Dept. Ancillary Organizations.
Minutes of social clubs
1908-1934
0.33 cubic ft.
 

U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer

S 192064 Military Dept. U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer.
Check registers
1917-1939
31.00 volumes

S 192065 Military Dept. U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer.
Ledger of the U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer
1911-1912
1.00 volume

S 192066 Military Dept. U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer.
Miscellaneous records
1911-1918
1.00 volume

S 192067 Military Dept. U.S. Property and Disbursing Officer.
Vouchers
1922
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Council of Defense (1917-1918)

S 192068 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Administrative records of the Council of Defense
1917-1919
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192069 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Correspondence files of the Council of Defense
1917-1919
2.66 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

S 192152 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Reference material received by the Council of Defense
1917-1919
1.00 cubic ft. and 1.00 folder

S 192153 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Bulletins and circulars of the Council of National Defense 
1917-1919
1.00 cubic ft.

S 192154 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Correspondence relating to building projects (War Industries Board)
1918
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192155 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Livestock conservation program files
1918-1919
0.33 cubic ft. 

S 192156 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Check stubs
1918
3.00 volumes

S 192157 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1917-1918)
Scrapbooks of the  Council of Defense
1917-1918
1.00 volume
 

Council of Defense (1941-1945)

S 192101 Military Dept. Council of Defense (1941-1945)
Minutes of the Council of Defense
1940-1941
1.00 volume
 

South Carolina  National Guard

S 192139 Military Dept. South Carolina  National Guard.
Records of the Lexington Rifles
1890-1892
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192145 Military Dept. South Carolina  National Guard.
Publications for families (palmetto guard)
2006-2009
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192166 Military Dept. South Carolina  National Guard.
Websites of the South Carolina National Guard
2007-2018
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives
 

South Carolina Air National Guard

S 192086 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Histories of the 110th and 114th aircraft control and warning squadrons
1951-1952
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192087 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Bulletins and newsletters
1959-1988
0.33 cubic ft.

S 192088 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
History of the 169th consolidated aircraft maintenance squadron in Operation Desert Storm, January-May, 1991
ca. 1995
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192126 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Air National Guard films
ca. 1946-1996
0.75 cubic ft. and 222,300.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 192127 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Published histories of the South Carolina Air National Guard (yearbooks)
1971-1986
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192128 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Public relations and historical files with inherited operational records
1946-1996
2.16 cubic ft.
(Portions restricted)

S 192129 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Scrapbooks
1946-1993
6.60 cubic ft.

S 192131 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Federal recognition certificates for South Carolina Air National Guard (SCANG) units
1946
0.66 cubic ft.

S 192132 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Orders
1951-1977
0.66 cubic ft.

S 192133 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
History of the 157th fighter squadron
1982
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192134 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
South Carolina Air National Guard periodic histories: 1 April, 1979 -
31 December, 1995
1997
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192161 Military Dept. South Carolina Air National Guard.
Photography files
ca. 1946-1996
23.00 cubic ft.

 

Disaster Preparedness Agency

S 192074 Military Dept. Disaster Preparedness Agency.
Audit of the Personnel and Administrative Expenses Program
1963
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192075 Military Dept. Disaster Preparedness Agency.
Account sheets
1952-1979
1.00 cubic ft.

S 192076 Military Dept. Disaster Preparedness Agency.
Operational Survival Plan project ledgers
1959-1970
6.00 volumes

S 192077 Military Dept. Disaster Preparedness Agency.
Radiological defense ledger
1966-1970
1.00 volume

S 192120 Military Dept. Civil Defense Agency.
General administrative files
ca. 1950-1958
5.00 cubic ft.

 

S 192160 Military Dept. Disaster Preparedness Agency.
Hampton on-site assistance program report
1973
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Emergency Management Division

S 192136 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Comprehensive emergency preparedness plans
1990-2011
1.00  cubic ft. and 2 CD-ROMs

S 192142 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Situation reports
1999-2005
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192143 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Newsletter (palmetto review)
1999-2002
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192146 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Dams emergency preparedness plans
2005
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192147 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Hurricane emergency preparedness plans
1997-2013
0.66 cubic ft. and 1 CD-ROM

S 192148 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Hurricane and earthquake preparedness guides
2007-2017
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 192149 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Earthquake emergency preparedness plans
2004-2010
0.33 cubic ft., 3.25 MBs and 2 CD-ROMS

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 192150 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Operational radiological emergency response plans
1984-2017
0.33 cubic ft. and 2 CD-ROMs

S 192151 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Disaster recovery plans
1997-2004
0.16 cubic ft.

S 192163 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Catastrophic incident response plans
2009
1 CD-ROM

 

S 192165 Military Dept. Emergency Management Division.
Websites of the Emergency Management Division
2006-2018
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

 

State Guard

S 192158 Military Dept. State Guard.
State Defense Force Conference
1987-1990
0.16  cubic ft.

S 192159 Military Dept. State Guard.
Newsletters
1987
0.00  cubic ft. (partial container)

 


SCDAH Website  ||  Summary Guide  ||  SCArchCat  ||  Online Records Index  ||  SC Electronic Records Archive  || Research Questions


For information on our search room services, please contact our research desk at 803-896-6104 or submit a
research request.

Please include your complete postal address in your electronic correspondence to us.