SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

SECRETARY OF STATE

(RG: 213000)

 

Recorded Instruments

S 213001 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (Proprietary series)
1671-1725
12.00 volumes and 14.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213002 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (Interregnum series)
1721-1733
9.00 volumes, 0.33 cubic ft., and 4.00 microfilm reels

S 213003 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (main series)
1732-1981
158.00 volumes, 1.00 cubic ft., 68.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel), and 2.00 items
On-Line Records Index

S 213004 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (WPA transcripts)
1692-1779
4.00 cubic ft., 37.00 volumes, and 17.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213005 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (copies)
1709-1746
3.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)

S 213006 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous records (Columbia series)
1776-1875
40.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 19.00 microfilm reels

S 213007 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Executive orders
1965-1998
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213008 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Ceremonial copy of the 27th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
1992
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213009 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Warrants for land
1672-1711
2.00 volumes and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213010 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Commissions and instructions from the Lords Proprietors
1671-1720
1.00 volume (includes partial volume) and 1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)

S 213011 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Abstracts of grants
1692-1718
2.00 volumes

S 213012 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Livestock marks books
1695-1737
0.00 volume (partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)
See sample image

S 213013 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Livestock and fruit brands registrations (originals)
1938-1984
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213014 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Marriage bonds
1743-1744
3.00 microfiche

S 213015 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Colonial land grants
1731-1775
60.00 volumes
On-Line Records Index

S 213016 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Township grants
1735-1761
5.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel
On-Line Records Index

S 213017 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Town lot grants
1735-1775
2.00 volumes
On-Line Records Index

S 213018 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Bounty grants
1767-1775
5.00 volumes

S 213019 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Colonial land grants (copy series)
1675-1788
63.00 volumes and 27.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

S 213021 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Proprietary land grants and sales
1675-1714
2.00 volumes

S 213022 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Land grants (Columbia office)
1784-1878
107.00 volumes (includes partial volume), 54.00 microfilm reels, and 1.00 cubic ft.

S 213024 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Land grants (Charleston office)
1784-1861
106.00 volumes and 25.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213026 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Land grants (Act of 1878)
1881-1936
2.00 volumes

S 213027 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Will books
1733-1774
9.00 volumes and 6.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213028 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Will books (copies)
1671-1774
6.00 volumes and 3.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213029 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Ships registers
1734-1780
2.00 volumes, 0.25 cubic ft., and 1.00 microfilm reel

S 213030 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Mortgages (Charleston series)
1736-1869
64.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 52.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213031 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Mortgages (Columbia series)
1858-1873
4.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels

S 213032 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Inventories of estates
1736-1774
15.00 volumes and 6.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213033 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Inventories of estates (copies)
1746-1748
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213034 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Oaths and appointments
1820-2010
49.32 cubic ft.

S 213035 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Notices of appointment
1927-2008
36.14 cubic ft.

S 213036 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Appointment file for commissioners of deeds and other instruments in other states and territories
1836-1876
0.49 cubic ft.

S 213038 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Copyrights and patents book
1785-1789
1.00 volume

S 213039 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Plans for inventions
1786-1800
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213040 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Memorials of conveyances
1785-1824
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213041 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Marriage settlements
1785-1902
22.00 volumes and 9.00 microfilm reels

S 213042 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Evidence of leasehold (Catawba Indian lands)
1791-1856
4.30 cubic ft.

S 213043 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Election materials
1876-1968
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213044 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
List of commissions and appointments
1819-2008
47.00 volumes and 3.33 cubic ft.

S 213050 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Bills of sale
1843-1872
8.00 volumes and 3.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

S 213051 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Official bonds
1847-1975
25.00 volumes and 6.00 cubic ft.

S 213052 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Register of official bonds
1966-1987
1.00 volume

S 213053 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Mortgages to commissioners in equity
1860-1863
1.00 volume

S 213054 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Acknowledgements of liens
1862-1863
1.00 volume

S 213055 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Pardons books
1866-1950
21.00 volumes

S 213056 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Land Commission plats
1870-1898
1.00 volume (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213057 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Machine gun permit applications
1934-1975
0.50 cubic ft.

S 213058 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Paroles
1909-1926
6.00 volumes

S 213059 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Legislative dockets
1935-1980
1.33 cubic ft.

S 213060 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Lobbyist expense accounts
1973-1980
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213061 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Fruit and livestock brands
1938-1963
1.00 volume

S 213062 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Rules and regulations
1937-1976
17.33 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

S 213063 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Transcripts of proceedings in capital improvement bonds issued by the state
1949-2010
82.33 cubic ft.

S 213064 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Petitions to certify political parties
1968-1971
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213065 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Petitions to place Dwight David Eisenhower on the ballot as an Independent
1952
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213066 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Candidates' pledges and expenses
1956-1968
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213067 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Absentee ballot lists
1958-1966
6.00 volumes

S 213068 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Register of political party officers
1964-1970
4.00 volumes

S 213069 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
County and state officers of political parties
1980-1993
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213110 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
County annexation files
1953
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213195 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Public land plat books
1869-1932
3.00 volumes, 1.32 cubic ft., and 2.00 microfilm reels

S 213199 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Columbia Canal plats
1820-1825
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 213200 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Covenant and agreements of the Canal Commission
1880
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213201 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Plats of proposed county boundary changes
1894-1921
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213205 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous documents
ca. 1693-1714
0.16 cubic ft. and 0.01 microfilm reel

S 213214 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Certificates of citizenship and denizenship
1788-1839
1.00 volume

S 213215 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Inventories of estates (WPA transcripts)
1736-1774
11.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel), 2.00 cubic ft., and 34.00 volumes

S 213216 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Wills (WPA transcripts)
1671-1774
11.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel), 4.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container), and 13.00 volumes

S 213218 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Petitions to place George Wallace and Marvin Griffin on the ballot as Independents
1968
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213222 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Highway commissioner election files
1947-1966
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213223 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Oaths of election officials
1949-1966
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213224 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Certifications of candidates for State Senate
1968
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213225 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Petitions to place Independents on the ballot
1956
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213226 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Petitions to place W. W. Wannamaker on the ballot
1966
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213227 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Election correspondence
1966-1968
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213228 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Miscellaneous papers relating to elections
ca. 1950-1975
9.00 cubic ft.

S 213230 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Professional association cards
ca. 1970-1987
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213231 Secretary of State. Recorded Instruments.
Register of records received
1799-1819
1.00 volume
 

Fiscal and Internal Management

S 213049 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Account book of Secretary John Hammerton
1732-1743
0.00 volume (partial volume)

S 213072 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Administrative correspondence files
ca. 1964-1992
5.33 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 213073 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Administrative files
ca. 1985-1992
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 213074 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Appointment books
1959-1966
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213075 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Appropriations ledgers
1895-1975
9.00 volumes and 0.33 cubic ft.

S 213076 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
State Auditor's reports
1949-1965
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213077 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Cashbooks of the Secretary of State
1873-1972
37.00 volumes

S 213078 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Certified copies of legal documents not delivered
1785-1830
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213079 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Contingent account ledger
1881-1889
1.00 volume

S 213080 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
General correspondence
1930-1978
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213081 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Deposit receipts
1930-1948
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213082 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Letters received
1898-1900
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213083 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Letterbooks
1870-1900
3.00 volumes

S 213084 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
CD-ROMs of the Secretary of State's web site
2003
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 213085 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Receipts for acts to be enrolled
1873-1920
20.00 volumes

S 213086 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Receipts for foreign corporation annual statements
1956-1961
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213087 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Receipts for returns of securities registration fees
1970-1971
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213209 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Receipt ledgers
1907-1956
12.00 volumes

S 213219 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
National Association of Secretaries of State file
1930-1958
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213220 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Account book of the State House Groundskeeper
1889-1890
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213229 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Unarranged papers
ca. 1866-1965
11.30 cubic ft.

S 213233 Secretary of State. Fiscal and Internal Management.
Correspondence, invitations, and speech file of Secretary of State James M. Miles
1991-2002
9.00 cubic ft.
 

Notary Public Division

S 213070 Secretary of State. Notary Public Division.
Applications for appointment as notary public
1867-1969
13.16 cubic ft.

S 213071 Secretary of State. Notary Public Division.
Notary public commissions
1892-1967
10.00 volumes
 

Corporation Charter Division

S 213095 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Increase and decrease of capitol stock recorded certificates
1899-1964
9.00 volumes

S 213107 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Amendments to charters issued by special legislation
1919-1964
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213108 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Railroad records
1881-1979
14.00 cubic ft.

S 213109 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Railroad records (recorded copy)
1889-1926
11.00 volumes

S 213111 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Index to charter declarations
1900-1920
0.50 cubic ft. and 1.00 microfilm reel

S 213112 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Live domestic corporation files
1887-1964
52.70 cubic ft. and 3.00 microfilm reels

S 213113 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Minutes of Seabrook incorporation hearing
1987
0.10 cubic ft.

S 213114 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Corporation data files
1964-1984
4.00 microfilm reels and 17.00 cubic ft.

S 213115 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Corporation records
1887-1889
1.00 volume

S 213116 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Corporation records (1887-1889)
1904
1.00 volume

S 213117 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Corporation declarations and returns
1889-1900
6.00 volumes

S 213118 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Commissions to boards of corporators
1889-1901
5.00 volumes

S 213119 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Petitions to amend charters of live domestic corporations
1961-1963
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213120 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Amendments to live domestic corporations
1896-1989
16.00 volumes

S 213121 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Private corporation charters
1887-1963
96.00 volumes and 19.00 microfilm reels

S 213122 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Reports of non-resident directors
1962-1984
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213125 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Dead domestic corporation files
1887-1961
92.00 cubic ft. and 7.00 microfilm reels

S 213126 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Articles of dissolution
1953-1959
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213127 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Dissolutions of charter by forfeiture
1976-1981
7.00 cubic ft.

S 213128 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Statements of intent to dissolve a corporation
1964-1982
14.00 cubic ft.

S 213129 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Notices of dissolution of domestic corporations
1961-1963
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213130 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Reinstatement of charters dissolved by forfeiture
1964-1985
4.00 cubic ft.

S 213131 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Live foreign corporation files
1898-1963
98.00 cubic ft.

S 213132 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Index to dead foreign corporation files (1964 series)
1964-1972
1.00 microfilm reel

S 213133 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Dead foreign corporation files
1911-1958
49.70 cubic ft.

S 213134 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Foreign corporation withdrawals
1960-1981
5.00 cubic ft.

S 213135 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Designations of agents upon whom process may be served
1958-1963
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213136 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Notices of registered agent and registered office
1964
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213137 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Resignation of agent upon whom process may be served
1964-1982
1.65 cubic ft.

S 213138 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Summons and complaints
1933-1982
54.00 cubic ft.

S 213139 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Eleemosynary corporation commissions and charters
1898-1899
2.00 volumes

S 213140 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Eleemosynary corporation petitions (Act of 1900)
1900-1983
34.08 cubic ft. and 1.00 microfilm reel

S 213141 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Eleemosynary corporations charter books (Act of 1900)
1900-1990
50.00 volumes and 9.00 microfilm reels

S 213143 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademark applications
1911-1961
9.50 cubic ft.

S 213144 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademark applications (new series)
1959-1984
5.33 cubic ft.

S 213145 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademarks
1910-2006
24.00 volumes, 18.00 cubic ft., and 2.00 CD-ROMs

S 213146 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademarks abandoned
1910-1936
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213147 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademarks assignments
1966-1981
0.33 cubic ft. (includes partial container)

S 213148 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademark renewal applications
1966-1981
1.33 cubic ft.

S 213149 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Trademark renewal certificates
1966-1980
3.00 volumes

S 213151 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Cooperative corporations files
1919-1984
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213152 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Cooperative credit unions files
1952-1981
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213153 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Increases and decreases of capitol stock applications
1961-1964
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213154 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Declarations of trust
1971-1984
1.33 cubic ft.

S 213155 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Municipal corporations petitions
1896-1899
0.00 volume (partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213156 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Municipal corporations commissions
1896-1974
2.00 volumes (includes partial volume) and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213157 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Municipal corporations charters
1896-1976
3.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels

S 213159 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Municipal corporations files
ca. 1890-1989
25.12 cubic ft.

S 213160 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Professional association reports
1962-1980
3.49 cubic ft.

S 213161 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Directories of special purpose districts
1988-2008
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213162 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Files of corporations financed by the Farmers Home Administration
1964-1983
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213163 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Annual reports of corporations financed by the Consolidated Farmers Home
Administration
1967-1983
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213164 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Certificates of assumed name
1981-1982
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213165 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Annual license fee returns of rural electric cooperatives
1951-1969
0.50 cubic ft.

S 213177 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Municipal corporations record
1896-1948
1.00 volume

S 213208 Secretary of State. Corporation Charter Division.
Private corporation charter renewals
1897-1955
1.00 volume
 

Public Charities Division

S 213166 Secretary of State. Public Charities Division.
Registration files
1973-1998
163.00 cubic ft.

S 213167 Secretary of State. Public Charities Division.
Exemption files
1973-1997
5.66 cubic ft.

S 213168 Secretary of State. Public Charities Division.
Professional fundraisers registration files
1973-1997
7.16 cubic ft.

S 213191 Secretary of State. Public Charities Division.
Litigation case files
1974-2003
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Securities Division

S 213169 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Securities registrations (Act of 1936)
1936-1961
13.00 cubic ft.

S 213170 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Securities registrations (Act of 1961)
1961-1981
6.00 cubic ft.

S 213171 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Exemptions correspondence
1979-1985
3.00 cubic ft.

S 213172 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Withdrawn applications for securities registrations
1980-1985
2.00 cubic ft.

S 213173 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
List of securities dealers, agents, and investment advisors
1938-1972
0.16 cubic ft. and 3.00 volumes

S 213174 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Broker-dealer registration certificates
1941-1977
1.00 cubic ft.

S 213175 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Investment advisors registration certificates
1963-1976
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213176 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Reports and special bulletins of the commissioner
1961-1985
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213178 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Investigative files
1937-1943
1.00 cubic ft.
(Restricted)

S 213179 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
History file on the Securities Act of 1961
1937-1961
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213180 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Correspondence of the commissioner
1933-1966
0.33 cubic ft.

S 213206 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Securities registration certificates
1942-1976
1.33 cubic ft.

S 213207 Secretary of State. Securities Division.
Legal files for actions against securities agents, investment advisors, and broker-dealers
1960-1970
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Records Deposited with the Secretary

S 213088 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Transcripts of records in the British Public Records Office relating to South Carolina
1663-1782
36.00 volumes and 6.00 microfilm reels

S 213089 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Robert W. Gibbes collection of Revolutionary War manuscripts
1773-1820
4.00 volumes and 2.10 cubic ft.
On-Line Records Index

S 213090 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Transcript of South Carolina Continental Line service list
1854
1.00 volume

S 213091 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Wilmot G. DeSaussure's roll of Revolutionary officers
1884
1.00 volume

S 213092 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Indemnity bonds for city of Charleston re-emission of state paper medium loan notes
1788
1.00 volume

S 213093 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
List of probates and administrations
1789-1825
0.66 cubic ft.

S 213094 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
State population census schedules
1829-1875
4.93 cubic ft., 20.00 volumes, and 9.00 microfilm reels

S 213096 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Ninth census of the United States (South Carolina returns)
1870
34.50 cubic ft.

S 213097 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Transcripts of documents of the Palmetto Regiment, 1846-1849
1858
2.00 volumes

S 213098 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Correspondence relating to Mexican War medals
1852-1855
1.00 volume

S 213099 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Minutes of the Palmetto Regiment Association
1869-1881
1.00 volume

S 213100 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Transcript of direct tax payments, confiscations, and redemptions
1862-1866
1.00 volume

S 213101 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Special orders of the Second Military District
1867-1868
2.00 volumes

S 213102 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Voter registrations reported to the military government
1867-1868
12.00 cubic ft.

S 213103 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Abstracts of voter registrations reported to the military government
1868
8.00 volumes and 4.00 microfilm reels

S 213104 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Voter registrations (Act of 1896)
1896
35.00 volumes

S 213105 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Duplicate registers of state bonds
1874-1966
15.00 volumes

S 213106 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Retired matrices of the state seal
1777-ca. 1960
8.00 items

S 213217 Secretary of State. Records Deposited with the Secretary.
Proclamation re artifacts of Andrew Jackson
1858
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)
 

Surveyor General's Office

S 213181 Surveyor General's Office.
Certificates of admeasurement for Charles Town lots
1678-1756
2.00 volumes and 2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

S 213182 Surveyor General's Office.
Duplicate plats (colonial series)
1731-1775
30.50 cubic ft.

S 213183 Surveyor General's Office.
Colonial plat books
1731-1775
32.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)

S 213184 Surveyor General's Office.
Colonial plat books (copy series)
1731-1775
26.00 volumes and 15.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

S 213185 Surveyor General's Office.
Surveyors' notebook for Charles Town
1732-1752
1.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

S 213186 Surveyor General's Office.
List of plats transferred (elapsed plats)
1731-1845
4.00 volumes

S 213187 Surveyor General's Office.
Copies of plats and plans, 1728-1800
ca. 1820-1821
2.00 volumes
On-Line Records Index 

S 213188 Surveyor General's Office.
Duplicate state plats (Charleston series)
1784-1858
9.50 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

S 213189 Surveyor General's Office.
Duplicate state plats (Columbia series)
1784-1881
52.00 cubic ft. and 4.00 volumes

S 213190 Surveyor General's Office.
State plat books (Charleston series)
1784-1860
49.00 volumes, 10.00 microfilm reels, and 0.66 cubic ft.
On-Line Records Index

S 213192 Surveyor General's Office.
State plat books (Columbia series)
1796-1868
28.00 volumes and 6.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)
On-Line Records Index

S 213193 Surveyor General's Office.
Copies of unrecorded plats for unperfected grants
1845
2.00 volumes

S 213194 Surveyor General's Office.
Partial transcript of Colleton District Commissioner of Location plat book (1801-1804)
ca. 1845-1846
1.00 volume

S 213196 Surveyor General's Office.
Bonds of deputy surveyors
1831-1862
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213197 Surveyor General's Office.
Unrecorded plats for lands not granted
ca. 1731-1881; (bulk 1781-1866)
2.00 cubic ft. and 2.00 microfilm reels
On-Line Records Index

S 213198 Surveyor General's Office.
Worksheet
ca. 1740
0.16 cubic ft.

S 213210 Surveyor General's Office.
Reports on the variation of the magnetic needle
1849-1853
1.00 volume

S 213211 Surveyor General's Office.
Oversized eighteenth century plats ("mounted plats")
ca. 1731-1786
1.41 cubic ft.

S 213212 Surveyor General's Office.
Plan books
1784-1873
3.00 volumes
On-Line Records Index

S 213213 Surveyor General's Office.
Miscellaneous indexes to plats
1730-1850
0.33 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

S 213232 Surveyor General's Office.
Last resort book, 1683-1770
1845
1.00 volume


Guide to State Records || Research || Research Questions