SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

ABBEVILLE COUNTY

Established in 1785 from part of Ninety-Six District

Fires in January and November of 1872 and January 1873 destroyed virtually all records except those of the probate and equity courts

 

 

Register of Mesne Conveyances

 

L 01001 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Conveyance books
1872-1920, 1991-1993
0.50 cubic ft., 52.00 microfilm reels, 10.00 volumes and 698.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

L 01002 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Plat books
1916-1993; (bulk 1978-1993)
3.00 microfilm reels

L 01052 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Charter books
1887-1900
1.00 microfilm reel

L 01071 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Official bonds books
1872-1933
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 01072 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Mechanics' liens books
1891-1924
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 1.00 volume

L 01073 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Abstracts of "burned" conveyances, mortgages, etc.
1817-1882
3.00 microfilm reels

L 01091 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Index to liens
1878-1909
30.00 volumes

L 01102 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Contract books of the South Carolina Cotton Growers Cooperative Association

1924-1930
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container) and 1.00 volume

L 01128 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Record of homesteads book
1885-1935
1.00 volume

L 01127 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Index to labor contracts
1908-1926
1.00 volume

L 01134 Abbeville County (S.C.). Register of Mesne Conveyances.
Real estate mortgage books index
1914-1919
3.00 volumes

 

Clerk of Court

L 01003 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Confederate veterans' enrollment books
1902
2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 01074 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of notaries public
1911-1995
1.00 microfilm reel

L 01076 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Register of medical practitioners
1882-1983
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 01086 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Motor vehicle record book
1916-1917
1.00 volume

L 01087 Democrat Party (Abbeville County, S.C.)
Democratic club rolls
1918-1948
55.00 volumes

L 01088 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Voter registration books
1882-1918
82.00 volumes

L 01104 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Rolls of trial justices and constables
1872-1896
1.00 volume

L 01105 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Partnership book
1897-1913
1.00 volume

 

L 01108 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Motor vehicle register
1909-1917
1.00 volume

 

L 01118 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Arbitration docket
1975-1978
1.00 volume

 

L 01130 Abbeville County (S.C.). Clerk of Court.
Miscellaneous records of the Clerk of Court
1874-1876
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Court of Common Pleas

L 01004 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Citizenship petitions
1873-1908
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 01005 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Homestead exemption files
1871-1913
0.16 cubic ft.

L 01006 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Equity reports
1886
0.33 cubic ft.

L 01051 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Civil journals
1873-1900
7.00 microfilm reels and 2.00 volumes

L 01060 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Calendar no. 1
1899-1926
1.00 microfilm reel  and 3.00 volumes

L 01061 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Calendar no. 2
1877-1885
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01062 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Calendar no. 4
1873-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01063 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Calendar no. 5
1873-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 1.00 volume

L 01064 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Calendar no. 6
1873-1883
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 1.00 volume

L 01075 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Abstracts of "burned" judgments and decrees
1865-1886
3.00 microfilm reels and 2.00 volumes

L 01077 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Abstracts of judgments
1872-1922
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 01078 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
File dockets
1881-1938
1.00 microfilm reel

L 01079 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Confessions of judgment before the clerk (recorded copy)
1873-1929
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 2.00 volumes

L 01112 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Bar calendars
1891-1901
1.00 volume

 

L 01113 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Pleadings and judgments
1875-1889
3.00 volumes

 

L 01114 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Lawyers docket
1881-1885
1.00 volume

 

L 01115 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Record of declaration of intention
1909-1914
1.00 volume

 

L 01116 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Public guardianship book
1880...1921
1.00 volume

 

L 01117 Court of Common Pleas (Abbeville County)
Writ of attachment book
1902-1940
1.00 volume

Court of Equity

L 01007 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity minutes
1842-1853
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 01008 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity rolls
1820-1868
23.00 cubic ft., 59.00 microfilm reels, and 1.00 volume

L 01009 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity decree books
1839-1858
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 01011 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity report books
1839-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 01012 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Petitions for guardianship
1850-1864
0.00 cubic ft. (partial reel)

L 01014 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1841-1868
1.00 microfilm reel and 3.00 volumes

L 01016 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Guardian, trustee, and committee account books
1841-1863
2.00 microfilm reels and 5.00 volumes

L 01018 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Bonds for money decrees
1829-1859
0.33 cubic ft.

L 01019 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity file books
1841-1868
1.00 volume

L 01020 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Appearance books
1864
1.00 volume

L 01059 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity records (general index)
1791-1868
2.00 microfilm reels

L 01085 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity orders
1825-1828
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

L 01098 Court of Equity (Abbeville District)
Equity sales books
1850-1868
1.00 volume

 

Master

L 01010 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Equity reports
1826-1861
0.33 cubic ft.

L 01013 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Guardian, trustee, and committee bonds
1825-1864
0.66 cubic ft.

L 01015 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Guardian, trustee, and committee accounts
1825-1866
0.33 cubic ft.

L 01021 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Minutes of the Master
1843-1911
7.00 volumes

L 01022 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Stock books
1842-1869
1.00 volume

L 01023 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Account books of the Master
1839-1971
14.00 volume and 0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01050 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Sales books of the Master
1859-1942
17.00 volumes and 1.00 microfilm reel

L 01065 Abbeville County (S.C.). Master.
Receipt books
1851-1899
1.00 cubic ft., 1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel
 

Court of Ordinary

L 01025 Court of Ordinary (Abbeville District)
Estate record books
1787-1815
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01027 Court of Ordinary (Abbeville District)
Real estate books
1825-1840
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01090 Court of Ordinary (Abbeville District)
Settlement books
1836-1841
1.00 volume

 

 Probate Court

L 01024 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Estate papers
1782-1950
1.00 cubic ft. (includes partial container), 303.00 microfilm reels, and 1.00 volume

L 01026 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Will books
1815-1970
2.00 microfilm reels and 8.00 volumes

L 01028 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Inventories, appraisements, and sales books
1787-1883
8.00 microfilm reels and 32.00 volumes

L 01029 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Administration bond books
1840-1929
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 4.00 volumes

L 01030 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Administration bonds with will annexed books
1840-1923
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 01031 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Guardian, trustee, and committee bond books
1840-1894
1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel) and 1.00 volume (includes partial volume)

L 01032 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Returns books
1840-1971
8.00 microfilm reels and 18.00 volumes

L 01033 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Real estate books
1825-1881
3.00 microfilm reels and 4.00 volumes

L 01034 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Distribution of state pension fund books
1900-1957
1.00 volume and 1.00 microfilm reel (includes partial reel)

L 01035 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Journals of the Probate Court
1819-1882
3.00 microfilm reels and 4.00 volumes

L 01036 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
List of persons admitted to state mental health facilities
1922-1924
1.00 volume

L 01055 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Letters of administration books
1840-1900
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel) and 5.00 volumes

L 01056 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Letters testamentary books
1850-1889
1.00 microfilm reel and 2.00 volumes

L 01057 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Letters of administration with will annexed books
1871-1923
1.00 microfilm reel

L 01058 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Sales books of the Probate Court
1895-1927
1.00 microfilm reel

L 01066 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Letters of guardianship books
1850-1896
2.00 microfilm reels

L 01067 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Real estate cashbooks
1867-1920
1.00 microfilm reel and 1.00 volume

L 01080 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Marriage licenses
1911-1950
11.00 microfilm reels

L 01081 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Marriage books
1911-1954
2.00 microfilm reels

L 01124 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Liquor permits
1933-1935
1.00 volume

L 01123 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Record of liquor permits issued
1917-1918
1.00 volume

L 01122 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Public guardianship ledgers
1895-1927
3.00 volumes
 

L 01119 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Probate dockets
1909-1967
5.00 volumes

L 01121 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Ledgers of the Probate Court
1911...1957
3.00 volumes

L 01125 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Liquor permit affidavits
1897...1906
1.00 volume

L 01129 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Miscellaneous records of the Probate Judge
n.d.
0.50 cubic ft.

L 01132 Probate Court (Abbeville County)
Control journal
1931-1957
1.00 volume

 

Court of General Sessions

L 01053 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Criminal journals
1873-1907
2.00 microfilm reels (includes partial reel)

L 01106 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Contingent docket
1905-1964
1.00 volume

 

L 01107 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Criminal abstracts
1905-1964
1.00 volume

 

L 01109 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Court expenses ledger
1909-1952
1.00 volume

 

L 01110 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Criminal docket

1873-1893
1.00 volume

 

L 01111 Court of General Sessions (Abbeville County)
Sessions index
1873-1890
1.00 volume

 

Magistrates Court

L 01054 Magistrates Court (Abbeville County)
Criminal dockets
1875-1881
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

 

Sheriff

L 01120 Abbeville County (S.C.). Sheriff.
Jail books of the Sheriff
1940-1982
6.00 volumes

 

Coroner

L 01084 Abbeville County (S.C.). Coroner.
Coroner's inquisition books
1840-1849
0.16 cubic ft.
 

Board of Honor

L 01068 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Letters received
1908
0.00 microfilm reel (partial reel)

L 01089 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Honor.
Confederate pension rolls
1897-1909
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container) and 4.00 volumes

 

County Council

L 01049 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Council.
Minutes of the County Council
1910-2015
1.00 microfilm reel and 137.7 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

L 01097 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Council.
Annual budget
1992
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Auditor

L 01099 Abbeville County (S.C.). Auditor.
Real estate conveyance books
1903-1968
10.00 volumes

L 01100 Abbeville County (S.C.). Auditor.
Special school books
1912-1915
3.00 volumes

 

Treasurer

L 01101 Abbeville County (S.C.). Treasurer.
Public service employment ledger
1978-1979
1.00 volume

L 01103 Abbeville County (S.C.). Treasurer.
School ledgers
1935-1969
5.00 volumes

 

Legislative Delegation

L 01082 Abbeville County (S.C.). Legislative Delegation.
Audit reports
1944-1972
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Board of Education

L 01037 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Minutes of the Board of Education
1938-1939
1.00 volume

L 01038 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Teachers' certification record books
1895-1946
2.00 volumes

L 01039 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
General ledgers of the Superintendent of Education
1924-1963
3.00 microfilm reels

L 01040 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Annual reports of the Superintendent of Education
1933-1949
16.00 volumes

L 01041 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Register of claims
1884-1889
1.00 volume

L 01083 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Education.
Audit reports
1953-1972
0.33 cubic ft.
 

County Teachers' Association Board

L 01046 Abbeville County Teachers' Association (S.C.)
Minutes of the Abbeville County Teachers' Association
1938-1947
1.00 volume
 

Board of Trustees

L 01042 School District No. 9 (Calhoun Falls, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Minutes of the Board of Trustees
1927-1946
4.00 volumes

L 01043 School District No. 9 (Calhoun Falls, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Files of the chairman of the Board of Trustees
1945-1952
2.00 volumes

L 01044 School District No. 22 (Abbeville, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Minutes of the Board of Trustees
1913-1925
1.00 volume

L 01045 School District No. 60 (Abbeville, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Correspondence and reports books
1952-1956
1.00 volume

L 01096 School District No. 60 (Abbeville, S.C.). Board of Trustees.
Audited financial statements
1982-1984
0.16 cubic ft.

 

County Commissioners

L 01095 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Commissioners.
Minutes of the Highway Commission
1920-1929
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container) and 1.00 volume

L 01092 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Commissioners.
Ledgers of the supervisor of the County Commissioners
1936-1951
4.00 volumes

L 01095 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Commissioners.
Minutes of the County Commissioners
1910-1933
0.16 cubic ft. and 1.00 volume

L 01094 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Commissioners.
Convict record
1909, 1911
1.00 volume

 

L 01133 Abbeville County (S.C.). County Commissioners.
Cashbooks of the County Commissioners
1896-1897
1.00 volume

 

Board of Exemptions

L 01131 Abbeville County (S.C.). Board of Exemptions.
Minutes of the Board of Exemptions
1917
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Mixed Provenance

L 01047 Papers of mixed provenance
ca. 1860-1980
46.33 cubic ft.
 

Uncertain Provenance

L 01048 Wardlaw and Dendy (Abbeville County, S.C.)
Ledgers of Wardlaw and Dendy
1847-1849
1.00 volume

L 01069 Order to commit a slave
1864
0.33 cubic ft.

L 01070 Affidavit of Ann Berry
1786
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 


SCDAH Website  ||  Summary Guide  ||  SCArchCat  ||  Online Records Index  ||  SC Electronic Records Archive  || Research Questions


For information on our search room services, please contact our research desk at 803-896-6104 or submit a
research request.

Please include your complete postal address in your electronic correspondence to us.