SC Archives Summary Guide

South Carolina Archives Summary Guide

DEPT. OF TRANSPORTATION

(formerly the Dept. of Highways and Public Transportation)

(RG: 233000)

 

 

S 233019 Dept. of Transportation.
Maps
1923-2001
16.00 microfilm reels, 20.00 cubic ft., and 5.00 folders

S 233020 Dept. of Transportation.
State highway maps
1930-2016
8.00 folders

S 233021 Dept. of Transportation.
Published state traffic flow maps
1928-1998
1.00 folder

S 233046 Dept. of Transportation.
County highway maps
1938-2005
48.00 folders

S 233047 Dept. of Transportation.
Economic impact study
2003
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 233050 Dept. of Transportation.
Websites of the Department of Transportation
2006-present
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

 

S 233053 Dept. of Transportation.
Accountability reports
1999-2020
44.64 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233055 Dept. of Transportation.
Comprehensive permanent improvement plans
2015-2017
3.05 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233057 Dept. of Transportation.
Legislative reports
2014-2017
12.10 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233058 Dept. of Transportation.
Annual reports
2001-2020
18.17 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233059 Dept. of Transportation.
Annual C Fund program reports
2000-2018
101.77 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233060 Dept. of Transportation.
Miscellaneous reports
2001-2015
6.93 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233062 Dept. of Transportation.
Buildings in or near right of ways picture files
1959-1971
1.64 cubic ft.

 

S 233063 Dept. of Transportation.
Bridge construction photographs
1940-1974
2.00 cubic ft.

 

S 233064 Dept. of Transportation.
Newsletter photographs
1975-1993
3.00 cubic ft.

 

Dept. of Transportation Commission

S 233003 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Invitations to openings of Cooper River bridges
1929-2005
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233004 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Strategic highway plan for improving mobility and safety
1986-1993
0.33 cubic ft.

S 233005 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Commission fact book
1977
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 233009 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Commissioners and executive level employees service and biographical files
1917-1990
1.00 cubic ft.

S 233013 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Minutes of the Dept. of Transportation Commission
1917-2011
33.66 cubic ft. (includes partial container), 33.00 microfilm reels and 3603.3 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 233016 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Commission reports
1947-1993
18.00 cubic ft.

S 233023 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Manual of operations of the South Carolina Highway Patrol
1987-1993
1.00 volume

S 233025 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Construction manuals
1955-1972
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233052 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Transportation Commission.
Minutes of the Strategic Highway Plan for Improving Mobility and Safety Select Oversight Committee
1988-1992
0.16 cubic ft.

 

State Highway Department

S 233007 Dept. of Transportation. State Highway Department.
Movie film of the Silas Pearman Bridge
ca. 1966-1967
0.16 cubic ft. and 183.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive
 

Chief Highway Commissioner

S 233043 Dept. of Transportation. Chief Highway Commissioner.
Southeastern Association of State Highway officials, Pearman retirement, and other miscellaneous files
1953-1976 (bulk 1961-1976)
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Administration

S 233008 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Statewide Transportation Improvement Plan five year plans
1994-1998
0.33 cubic ft.

S 233010 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Agency bulletins, newspapers, and magazines
1917-1993
8.00 volumes and 1.16 cubic ft.

S 233012 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Agency history and ephemera file
1921-1984
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233015 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Printed reports on highway accidents
1977-1989
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233022 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Administrative and operational memoranda and orders
1923-1996
1.49 cubic ft.

S 233026 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Carolina highways
1949-1987
3.00 cubic ft.

S 233027 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Published transportation plans and studies
1966-1997
2.00 cubic ft.

S 233031 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Annual reports of the South Carolina Dept. of Highways and Public Transportation
1917-1984
1.00 cubic ft.

S 233034 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Employee safety manual
1991...2004
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233035 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Compilations of transportation--related legislation
1990-1994
0.33 cubic ft.

S 233036 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Comprehensive management study
1986
1.00 volume

S 233037 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Legislative reference file
1953-1993
0.16 cubic ft.

S 233040 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Annual highway conference programs
1976-1994
0.49 cubic ft.

S 233045 Dept. of Transportation. Administration.
Civil rights compliance files
1990-1997
5.00 cubic ft.
 

Finance and Control

S 233029 Dept. of Transportation. Finance and Control.
General ledgers of the Dept. of Transportation
1921-1981
47.00 volumes

S 233030 Dept. of Transportation. Finance and Control.
Accounts receivable
1921-1924
0.00 volume (partial volume)

S 233032 Dept. of Transportation. Finance and Control.
Internal audit reports
1976-1991
0.33 cubic ft.
(Restricted)

S 233041 Dept. of Transportation. Finance and Control.
Registers of indebtedness
1932-1933
2.00 volumes

 

Office of Legal Counsel

S 233044 Dept. of Transportation. Office of Legal Counsel.
Litigation case files
1985-1995
8.33 cubic ft.
 

Budget Office

S 233011 Dept. of Transportation. Budget Office.
Highway construction allotment advice file
1927-2015
22.16 cubic ft. and 177.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

S 233014 Dept. of Transportation. Budget Office.
General allotment advice file
1958-2008
8.00 cubic ft.
 

Office of Public Relations

S 233002 Dept. of Transportation. Office of Public Relations.
Public relations photographic collection
ca.1900-ca.2006

60.50 cubic ft.

S 233006 Dept. of Transportation. Office of Public Relations.
Highway reports (radio broadcast)
ca. 1975
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

S 233028 Dept. of Transportation. Office of Public Relations.
State highway department 60th anniversary film
1977
0.10 cubic ft. and 19,000.00 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive
 

Engineering Division

S 233017 Dept. of Transportation. Engineering Division.
Progress reports and meetings on the Cross Island Parkway, Beaufort County
1996-1998
0.82 cubic ft.
(Prior notice required to access videotapes and audiotapes)

S 233024 Dept. of Transportation. Engineering Division.
Ledger cards describing highway project authorizations
1920-1995
27.00 cubic ft.

S 233038 Dept. of Transportation. Engineering Division.
Cost estimates for completing South Carolina portions of the national highway system
1982-1991
5.00 volumes
 

Library

S 233001 Dept. of Transportation. Library.
Photographic collections
ca. 1926-1973
2.53 cubic ft.
 

Dept of Right of Way

S 233039 Dept. of Transportation. Dept. of Right of Way.
Acquisition, property management, relocation assistance, and appraisal manuals
2001-2006
0.33 cubic ft.
 

Interagency Council on Public Transportation

S 233033 Dept. of Transportation. Interagency Council on Public Transportation.
Minutes and meeting files of the Interagency Council on Public Transportation
1977-1993
1.00 cubic ft.
 

Interstate Toll Committee

S 233042 Dept. of Transportation. Interstate Toll Committee.
Report of the Interstate Toll Committee
1997
0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Motor Vehicle Inspection and Records Division

S 233048 Dept. of Transportation. Motor Vehicle Inspection and Records Division.
Scrapbook of the Motor Vehicle Inspection Division
1940-1995 (bulk: 1967-1988)
1.00 volume and 0.00 cubic ft. (partial container)

 

Minority and Small Business Affairs

S 233049 Dept. of Transportation. Minority and Small Business Affairs.
Project closeout files
2009-2010
2.00 cubic ft.

S 233051 Dept. of Transportation. Minority and Small Business Affairs.
External Equal Employment Opportunity Contract Compliance Program training
2001-2004
0.33 cubic ft.

 

 

Intermodal Planning Division

 

S 233054 Dept. of Transportation. Intermodal Planning Division.
Rail implementation plan reports
2015-2020
1.01 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

S 233056 Dept. of Transportation. Intermodal Planning Division.
Annual transit reports
2014-2020
2.62 MBs

SC Electronic Records Archive

 

 

Transportation Infrastructure Bank

 

S 233061 Dept. of Transportation. Transportation Infrastructure Bank.
Websites of the Transportation Infrastructure Bank
2020-present
0.00 MBs

SC Government Website Archives

 

 


SCDAH Website  ||  Summary Guide  ||  SCArchCat  ||  Online Records Index  ||  SC Electronic Records Archive  || Research Questions


For information on our search room services, please contact our research desk at 803-896-6104 or submit a
research request.

Please include your complete postal address in your electronic correspondence to us.